We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
88
281
229
115
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
281
229
115
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern cross station great budget hotel spencer st crown casino airport bus sky bus one night stay free tram zone etihad stadium light sleeper short stay handy location bed was comfortable would stay again central melbourne public transport skybus
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Booked a long time ago so got a great deal. Check in easy. Room spacious and clean. Located centrally. Good food nearby. Walking access to MCG. Staff friendly and helpful. Try the Royale pizza shop next door!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The room was great, it was clean and the staff were friendly. I used the visitors laundromat which was good and easy to use.

We would have preferred to have fresh air flowing through, that would have been better than having to use the air con which was a little noisy.

If their restaurant prices were a bit lower we would have eaten there but because it was so central there were loads of places to eat at.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KACouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I've been staying with Great Southern Hotel for a few years now but was unable to stay this time around due to being hospitalized. I called a 2 days in advance to try and request a refund/change of dates but was told no by a very rude customer service agent who hung up on me shortly after. All of my other holiday reservations in Melbourne were refunded (including budget airline tickets with a no refund/exchange policy) after I submitted my medical documentation except Great Southern. I understand that this hotel has a no refund policy but I feel as though there should be exceptions for circumstances like this.After this ordeal with the rude customer service reps, it has left such a bad taste and I will not be returning. This is a value hotel but I guess the savings are made from the lack of service.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Location is great with clean and modern hotel. Noise from outside is unbearable during the night, the light coming in from the bathroom early hours of the morning is a nightmare (needs a blind) shower floor was unclean very noticeable grim build up! I can’t believe how many mirrors are in one space it’s off putting
Beds are so hard, pillows the same. No Doona just a light blanket on bed, heater kept turning off.
Horrible

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Angel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

It's a pretty comfortable stay the FOH staff are very helpful the room was not clean but if you can look past the urine on the toilet seat and the gunk in the shower! It's very comfortable, there is no mobile Signal and you need to pay for wifi which is rediculous. But if this is a - 2star hotel then it's good value

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank Luka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews