We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Southern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
QT Melbourne(Melbourne)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adelphi Hotel(Melbourne)
US$169
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ovolo Laneways(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
US$183
US$176
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Fitness centre
    Reviews (747)
    Filter reviews
    747 results
    Traveller rating
    82
    253
    206
    99
    107
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    82
    253
    206
    99
    107
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfamily roomsouthern cross train stationcrown casinoairport bussky busetihad stadiumone night staybed was comfortablehandy locationshort stayinner citywould stay againmelbourne cityfree trampublic transportskybusstorage
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 747 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    This hotel is looking very tired and scruffy but it’s very good value for the great location and I thought it was fine for a couple of nights and if you are not intending on spending too much time in your room.

    Close to the river that is a buzzing area with lots of restaurants also only a short walk to main shopping street.

    Bedding clean and bed comfortable enough.

    I do like the finer things in life but would be happy to recommend this even though it’s a bit tatty. We booked an extra large room and it was fine.

    Stayed: April 2018
    Thank loobyBucks
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I enjoyed the stay, the deco in the hotel rooms was simple yet pleasant, and the hotel room was quiet. benefited from very convenient location, just minutes from the Southern Cross train station and Crown casino.

    • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rachel Z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    I sent 4 nights in this hotel and I wouldn't recommend to anyone to stay longer than 1 night. There are better hotels nearby.
    Unfortunately I booked the hotel through Expedia and the image on the web site didn't match the room that I was allocated.
    Arrival at reception was not very welcoming, 'sign here, that's the key and the lift is over there. Your room is on the first floor'. I wasn't told that I'd have to walk up and down stairs to find my room after exiting the lift. No offer to carry luggage to the room and I wasn't game to ask.
    The courtyard that lead to the room was like a scene from a prison movie. The room had a window that opened onto the courtyard, so therefore had to be closed and the blinds drawn. No natural light could enter the room. A queen bed was in the room, together with a bar fridge, fairly modern bathroom and at least a 30 year old noisy air conditioner. If you didn't leave the A/C on of a night you wouldn't sleep as the room would be too stuffy and humid. The room needed freshening up as the wardrobe doors didn't close properly and chips and marks dotted throughout. I consider the room to be sudstandard.
    No free WiFi and when you purchased 24 hours you had to be a computer genius to connect it.
    There is no bar, however there are a couple of pubs nearby that cater for mainly backpackers. The restaurant does serve alcohol but you must purchase a meal. The meals are expensive when you look at the quality you are served. There are better restaurants within walking distance of the hotel which offer better value.
    For a 4 star hotel it was very, very disappointing and I couldn't recommend anyone to stay there.

    Stayed: April 2018
    Thank lesliejamesr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

    this hoel locaton is perfect for a short stay near the train station and getting express skybus to the airport, quite far fro. Chinatown and shopping streets but ok to take public transportation. the service is just average, you get what you paid. no breakfadt included in the room rate , floor of bathroom quite flooded with water from shower section, the light on the corridor at front of my room in coutyard section is too bright even shaded windows, so it's difficult to get sleep. breakfast is not muvh choices to choose and have to pay, even more no free wifi although I am the hotel guest.

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    Thank jajavalB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The room itself is fine, it could be cleaner though. The fridge is empty but not able to be turned off despite being really noisy. This was added to by the icredibly loud aircon and the thin floors which mean you can hear everything from the room above. This would be fine but we managed to get what sounded like a heard of nocturnal elephants above us. It was impossible to sleep well with all of this.
    The bathroom was really nice and spacious. Definitely the highlight of the hotel.
    The breakfast is a rip off so find a cheap pancake place around the corner, theres heaps to choose from. Melbourne is the food capital afterall.
    They also do not provide free wifi which is ridiculous, go across the road to southern cross station and use theirs.
    Overall its a basic hotel and charges way too much for what you get.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank orrc1601
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews