We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,348)
Filter reviews
2,348 results
Traveller rating
896
973
332
98
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
973
332
98
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arts centre city road great location busy road bedroom apartment south bank short walk buffet breakfast room service washing machine great place to stay good size crown casino would stay again yarra river car parking business trip
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 2,348 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom corner apartment. 2 words to describe would be tired and noisy. There's no double glazing and City Rd is very busy leading to a LOT of noise. The apartment although spacious was tired. Chips on the bathtub and kitchen bench and dirty marks all over the bathroom ceiling as well as dust/mould in the exhaust fan. Shower is over bath and the glass panel is homeopathic leading to a fair bit of water spray.
Staff were nice but not particularly friendly and hard to get a hold of at critical times. The bathtub plug didn't fit and despite trying to call reception multiple times to get another one, phone rang out which made bathing difficult with an irritable toddler needing a bath. I get the impression the reception is chronically understaffed as staff often seemed stressed.
The in house restaurant stops service breakfast at 9.30am which seems ridiculous. A very gruff waiter told us they would still seat us at 9.25am (ie. take our money) but they would be packing up shortly. I was surprised at the early finish time for breakfast and was told "well, we have to do our conference catering!". I would have thought it would be possible to do both like every other hotel on the planet...
Good things were the size of the apartment and nice furniture, comfy couch and view of the arts centre. Location pretty good, short walk to Southbank promenade with many restaurants to choose from.
Wouldn't stay here again though, better options nearby.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drbrad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Good Evening Drbrad25,

Thanks for writing down some points about your recent stay with us.

I am extremely disappointed that the Premium Two Bedroom Corner Apartment missed the mark in exceeding your expectations. These are the crowning jewel of the property with huge corner balconies, open plan living, kitchen and dining and gorgeous easterly views of the Art Centre spire. The rooms that usually bring the most praise.

We have utilized your feedback to attend to the bathroom ceiling and the chip on the bench and will ensure such items are assessed prior to our guests checking in.

Our buffet breakfast runs from 6.30-9.30 Monday to Friday and 7.30-11am Saturday and Sunday, these timings are not conference related but doe reflect the overwhelming needs of the majority of clients whom stay on these days. I am sorry that this was not communicated in the correct manner and that you felt uneasy when arriving at 9.20 - I will personally ensure that our standards are not set to arrival time and each experience is to be premium in nature.

I do hope we have a chance to see you again and I would be happy to champion your next booking personally to ensure the detailed information is available, understood and value added to your stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this week to checkout the sights of Melbourne. The beds were comfortable and rooms decent however it wasn’t very clean. Our shower had mould in the grout and needed a good scrub and was more of a drizzle than a shower. These guys take water saving to a whole new level. Not only is there stuff all water coming out of the shower head but a sign placed in the shower asks that showers be kept to 4 minutes. The second day our room was made up by housekeeping as expected but on the 3rd day they didn’t turn up until 5.40pm when we were getting ready to go out for tea. We asked that they come back shortly after we have gone out however when we returned at 10pm our room hadn’t been touched. Clean towels were provided on request though.
Breakfast was great however on 2 mornings most things were cold as if the buffet was turned off rather than keeping the food warm.
Given the wide range of accommodation options in Melbourne you can certainly do better.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank MattP2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Good Morning Matt P,

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Southbank.

I am disappointed to hear that the shower was not functioning to its potential. Strong water pressure is an expected indulgence in the hotel industry and our shower head, though as described are installed to help the environment are tested to pull 11L/s of pressure. Which should outdo any residential unit. We will be sure to replace the one in question.

We have also utilized the feedback to pass onto our housekeeping department highlighting the importance of both consistency of timing and of quality to our guests stays and will continue working to ensure the daily servicing is at a high level.

I do hope we have an opportunity to have you stay again and would welcome direct contact prior to your next booking so I can champion the stay personally.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

clean comfortable and very helpful very convenient
bit crowded for breakfast
check in very helpful in changing room , nothing to difficult for them
plenty of tea and coffee in room especially as not full service

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P8033LRpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good Evening

Thanks for the review, it is great feedback to allow us to continually keep our finger on the pulse in terms of our guests wants/needs & expectations.

I am glad that we were able to quickly action your request and that we went above and beyond to ensure your stay was memorable.

Our weekend breakfast can be a little manic during peak hour but we always have the people on hand to ensure everyone can experience the bacon!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Shared with teenage daughter, apartment at rear of hotel. Able to hear trams from St Kilda Road, and building works from site next to Mantra. Low ceiling in bathroom, with shower over bathtub - not ideal for those that are tall, as you can't get under the shower or may knock your head or hard to get out of if you have sore knees. Generally clean and tidy, has a minibar, but I do not think this is really needed in apartments - if anything, include bottled water in the room rate and have vending machines for snacks if necessary - lots of supermarkets within walking distance.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wmonaghan0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good Afternoon

Thanks for the review, sorry to hear the bathroom sizing didn’t go to plan, we’ll be sure to note this down for future times as we’re always trying to exceed our guests expectations.

I am glad to hear you liked the location.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

My partner booked an apartment room as as a surprise weekend away in town. Lovely place, plenty of room and they even had a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. Pool and spa were really nice as well as the dining area. Lovely spot for a quite evening drink and beautiful buffet breakfast. The service was great and staff were very accomodating. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rae37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good Morning,

What a great way to start the day, a great review.

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback and we’ll be sure to continue providing the service & product for our guests to really enjoy their special occassions

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews