We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
251
401
105
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
401
105
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lygon st great location old melbourne gaol free tram cbd noise bath
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Located on Lygon St the Downtowner is in a great location. Literally a 10 min walk to the Victoria markets, Bourke St Mall and Museum/IMAX Theatre. If you need to access the "top end" of the CBD it's likewise very conveniently placed, with cinemas, Princess/Her Majesty's theatres very close. Then there's Lygon St itself with all the usual eateries and gelaterias.

The room was clean albeit a little on the small side, but quite light and airy. Bathroom had everything in it's place and again, quite clean. Didn't like the shower/water pressure, but that's just a thing I have about showers!

Had breakfast on site most mornings. Food was limited in terms of choice but quite good in quality. Wouldn't recommed the bar - it's in sore need of an update with ripped/scuffed chairs and barstools. I get the feeling it struggles with all the more interesting options up the road.

The free wifi was aweful. If you're in need of a decent wifi connection there is an option to buy a connection with useable speed for $10.00 a day, which I thought was a bit exhorbitant.

Can't complain about the overall service... Lovely night manager & attendance to any issues was prompt and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikelp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Downtowner is conveniently located on Lygon Street. Considering the location the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The rooms still maintain a fresh modern feel and are spacious with an oversized king size bed. My only gripe is the cheap foam pillows used on the bed. The bathroom is as spacious as the room itself, without a bath but a huge shower space. Check in and check out was quick and simple especially if you prepay. The room includes small fridge, iron and ironing board which was useful. I've stayed here a couple of times and would do so again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eyelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you for your feedback and repeat patronage. I am pleased you like the modern and spacious feel of our rooms but was sorry to read about your pillow experience. On you next visit please let my team know if you would like different pillow s and we will put them in for you.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Great hotel, on the Lygon St strip, walking distance to all eateries. Both the check in and check out staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are a little dated, but all in all it was comfortable and worth the money.

Room Tip: Book direct
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareead2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Wouldn't stay there again, room was clean and the bed was comfy but for the price would stay elsewhere. Had an awesome view through the bathroom window out onto the street! If you do stay there be prepared to pay an additional $20.00 for parking and don't be surprised next morning to come out and find another car parked behind you blocking you in. Also on check in you get a $50.00 incidental charge to your credit card in case that you use anything in the fridge but ours was empty!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

I am sorry you did not like the large windows that let light in to the bathroom and bedroom, it really creates a natural light filled environment, which can be blocked out with the blinds and curtains. I am also sorry if you were blocked in by another car in the morning, our team valet car park in order to offer this service of onsite car parking to as many of our guests as possible- they will move the car immediately if you ask them to. I feel I should also clarify the $50 preauth is for validating your card for any incidentals you might have such as room service/ bar or restaurant as well.

Please come and try us again, and if you book with me personally I would appreciate the opportunity to oversee your stay and will include free car parking for giving me this feedback.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Quite a modest room, but not bad at ~$120. Clean. Free (although slow) WiFi. The staff also very helpful providing good suggestions for coffee/food/transport etc. The main bonus is location right on Lygon, with its plethora of restaurants from the super fancy to the quick bite.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews