We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
251
401
105
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
401
105
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lygon st great location old melbourne gaol free tram cbd noise bath
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed at downtowner for 10 days . everything was good , staff are friendly and helpful. Melbourne central and many attractions are within walking distance. the only thing that might need upgrading a bit is the breakfast. otherwise If I'm in Melbourne again , I will definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Amr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Just spent four nights at the Downtowner on Lygon. Not only is it perfectly positioned to access all the fabulous restaurants Lygon Street, but the staff are so very helpful, friendly and courteous - nothing was too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Quiet Side!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 144kathyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Stayed there with my husband and son. Picked it for location and price.
The only real downfall is the noise factor from the street and corridor. The windows are not sealed very well so you can hear people talking in the corridor and cars going past at night.
Room is on the smaller side but it didn't bother us too much as we weren't planning on spending much time in the room. Bathroom looked very old but clean.
Breakfast was reasonable, few options to chose from.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTrip806570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

When checking in, the staff were very professional and friendly. Room was clean and well presented. Small problem with the taps was resolved quickly after speaking to the receptionist. I don't like the water saving showers, but maybe others prefer them.

Room Tip: If you enjoy eating out, you are in the heart of the busy Lygon Street restaurant. You will love it
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you found our team professional and friendly, and they were able to resolve the tap issue for you.

We have recently been acknowledged as the most environmentally friendly hotel in Melbourne and are currently the top NABERS ranked hotel in Australia for water and energy efficiency as well - water saving shower heads are instrumental in this.

Please book with me on your next stay, so I can offer you complimentary breakfast for letting me know your thoughts.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Lovely clean hotel even if it is in need of a lick of paint. Staff were very efficient and quick when checking us in. The young man on reception explained the quickest route to our room. The only down side was to find the next morning that there was an extra charge of $40.00 for onsite car parking even though it was an unsecured (no security ) site, this should be included in the room fee when on site. But all in all it is a great location for restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room away from road as traffic noise is a problem.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkT465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews