We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveller rating
491
759
328
89
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
759
328
89
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra river great location lobby bar a river view room across the bridge exhibition centre tram stop south wharf business hotel valet parking business trip short walk concierge staff pillow menu bit dated free tram spencer street
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This gem is situated in the right place for business or pleasure. Close to everything you need for a Melbourne city visit.

But the difference with crowne is the details. The staff are the most welcoming and friendly people who will immediately make you feel at home.

Views of the Yarra and Melbourne cityscape are breathtaking. Must stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeffreyMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Crowne Plaza Melbourne guest,

What a pleasure it is to read about your incredible stay. We have to agree, our team pay special attention to the small details to ensure that each guest feels welcome and taken car of. Our panoramic views of the Yarra River are just the icing on the cake.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best personal regards,
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel on Yarra river. Well.worth considering. They are currently remodeling and will improve the room quality as well as appearance. Its worth consideration as it's so close to most of downtown Melbourne, with free tram access to get you around town nicely

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Gatorbucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear valued Crowne Plaza Melbourne guest,

It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. Our riverside location places us in the heart of the action, central to so many of Melbourne's greatest attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best personal regards,
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night at Crowne Plaza in a Riverview Room.
The room was nicely renovated, a little small with great views across the River, South Wharf and the casino.
Parts of the hotel are still a little tired, however renovations are underway.
The staff are all very nice, and we would most definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kimamo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear valued Crowne Plaza Melbourne guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay, the Riverview Rooms always make for a special occasion with panoramic views of the Yarra River and city skyline. Our guestrooms are only months away from completion, and we look forward to revealing these stunning contemporary rooms with you on your next stay.

With best personal regards,
David Mansfiel
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel was included as part of a tour package I purchased. Facing the river provided great views from the window. It is in a good location, although not quite right in the business district. It is an easy 5-10 minute walk. There is also a tram stop right outside the hotel which allows for easy access of most parts of the city.

Breakfast is excellent with lots of choices as well as an omelet bar. In reception, they also have bowls of fruit available for snacking during the day.

The rooms appear to have been recently renovated. They are attractive. However, there appears to be a drainage issue from the shower. Although there is a full door, the water leaked out each time I showered.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Travelluver84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear valued Crowne Plaza Melbourne guest,

We hope you enjoyed your recent tour and got to see the best of Melbourne during your stay! Our absolute riverside location affords us access to the very best restaurants and bars, and getting to the business district is a short stroll or a free tram ride away. We're so glad you love the look of our newly refurbished guestrooms, and thank you for your feedback regarding drainage - this will be looked at immediately.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon for your next tour!

With best personal regards,
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I booked the Crowne Plaza for mine and my partners 2 year anniversary because 1. We are from Melbourne and we wanted to be close to Southbank and the restaurants and 2.The price was very reasonable for such a fantastic location (compared to many hotels around the area). We were only staying for 1 night and would be spending a majority of it at a near by restaurant and cinema.
When we arrived check-in was easy and they offer cheaper parking at a Care Park nearby than the actual Valet parking they offer ($16 for 24 hours instead of $47).

We were served right away and because it was our anniversary the hotel upgraded us from a normal view room to one of the renovated rooms with a river view. I have to say the room was stunning! It was a great size for 2 people and the decor, furnishings and all around feel of the room was very modern and comfortable. The view was amazing (Love our Melbourne!) even being on the 4th floor.

Now because the room was brand new there are going to be teething problems. We had issues with our TV not connecting properly and constantly rebooting. Not a huge deal but because the room was nice we thought we would enjoy it and have pre-drinks in the room with some music (they offer Foxtel) So rather than muck us around, as we were only staying one night, the lovely man (Nishan) at the Front Desk moved us to the Presidential Suite! While this room was not renovated, this didn't bother us at all as it was still modern and HUGE and comfortable! Oh and they also gave a complimentary bottle of sparkling which was lovely!

Thanks for making our anniversary that extra bit special Crowne and a big shout out to Nishan for going above an beyond!

Would definitely stay here again. You cannot beat the location and accessibility to so many entertaining locations in Melbourne.

Room tip: Request river view as you cannot beat it!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear valued Crowne Plaza Melbourne guest,

Happy anniversary! We love being a part of these special milestone moments and we are glad that our Front Office team upgraded you to one of our beautifully refurbished guestrooms.. and the Presidential Suite!
Our unbeatable riverside location makes us the perfect choice for couples looking to unwind and reconnect, and it sounds like a night that you both won't soon forget.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third anniversary!

With best personal regards,
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews