We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Minus the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 11 December 2017

If you want to stay very close to all the Southbank action & our Convention centre (Jeff's Shed).
This is the perfect hotel, nothing to extraordinary about it, it is a hotel, it has room service, a bar & restaurant.
But it is all about location, location, location.....
Don't pay out of your back teeth to stay at the casino, noise, people & traffic.
cross the Yarra River for this little Gem...
$47.00 to park my car--- A little too steep... every other cost was reasonable

Room Tip: Ask for a room Facing the Yarra River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simonsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Simonsopinion,

Thank you for your email. It's great to hear that you found our location so perfect for your requirements. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

On a business trip to Melbourne and decided to stay 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza. As an IHG Platinum Elite member, I received a complimentary upgrade to a King high floor river view room and was welcomed with a fruit platter. The room is spacious and clean. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. It's just a short walk to the Melbourne Convention Centre and the Southbank.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JV_Ang203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear JV_Ang203,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the benefits of your IHG rewards membership.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Our Christmas party was at Crown Casino so we needed a accommodation within walking distance. Well you won't get much closer. We were greeted by a very friendly Concierge attendant quickly followed by a lovely young lady at a Reception. Checkin was quick and easy. Our room was on the 2nd floor with an awesome view of the Yarra River, Crown Casino and Southbank. We were given complimentary drink vouchers to use in the lounge bar which was a lovely surprise. Beds were comfortable, there's a pillow menu and great selection of teas and coffee. Check out was 11am and also quick and easy. We will definitely be booking back in to Crowne Plaza for our next CBD adventure.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Marpear,

Thank you for sharing your review. I agree that our location is fantastic, being so close to the Crown Casino Complex and southbank. I am delighted to hear that concierge and reception were helpful and efficient during your stay.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Great service by staff. Restaurants and bars good value. Only downside they were working on the floor above our room so after 7am each day the hammerdrill started up. No good for an afternoon nap. Easy access to city shops markets abd casino.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear wen v,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location, bar and restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel was so close to main station in Melbourne. Staff was fantastic and very helpful. Across the road to the free tram, which makes travel around the city so easy. Pool is great too. Wifi was not free was the only disappointment

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear lyn s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I agree that we have a great location and access to the free city tram is very convenient!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
4,028 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,833 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: HK$915 - HK$2,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing