We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 5 June 2017

What a great hotel in a perfect location to Etihad stadium if coming for the footy or to Crown complex and Docklands and DFO South wharf. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Great little bar down stairs for relaxing with a quiet drink.
My friend was disappointed there wasn't an indoor pool but the pool is heated so that meant we weren't cold. Not close to theatre district but it's only a few minutes tram ride and the tram stops right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a river view room as it's a beautiful outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Dianne D,

Thanks you for your review. We are indeed located in a fabulous area, right across the road from Crown Casino complex and walking distance to the city with free trams right on our doorstep.
I am pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and Lobby bar relaxing for a quite drink.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Good location, just steps to the cities free tram station. Rooms nothing special, what you would expect clean rooms, comfortable bed, tea and coffee etc. short walk to the DFO shopping centre and even closer is the Crown Casino with all of its restaurants and high end shops.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gandirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Great location with nice city views. Short walk to everything...Efficient staff as you would expect. The rooms are quite tiny and the hotels ambience/ rooms have started looking quite dated and tired. Overall if you are on a business trip and for a night or two it's a great location and value. Not very sure about families with kids. The hotel does have a swimming pool though.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank amitc576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear amitc576,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are in a beautiful spot here on the Yarra River and there is lots to explore, lots of places to eat out or just great to relax next to the river.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

My room was beautiful,two king size beds and a great view. Very professional staff who were always constant in their professionalism and helpfulness.
Free wifi,close to crown casino,Valet parking at a charge. Very comfortable clean rooms

Room Tip: Only fault I found was parking,too expensive for valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear cmbf1953,

Thank you for your thorough feedback. I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable time while staying with us. Great to hear you enjoyed our facilities, Free wifi, Valet parking at a charge, comfortable and clean rooms.
Also, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff being professional and helpful.

I hope you will be able to return in the future!

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Our room overlooked the Yarra River which was fine, the room was neat ,tidy clean and modern. Unfortunately the bed was horribly uncomfortable, it was so hard both my wife and myself ended up with sore backs and aching joints. Our room had two double beds and we ended up putting the mattress topper, dooner etc on top of the other bed to try and make it bearable.

Room Tip: High floor with Casino view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 255060Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear 255060Holiday,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate both the positive and constructive comments which you have shared with us. Please accept our apologies if the bed in your room was not to our normally high standard and affected your sleep in any way. Thank you for your kind words about room being neat, clean, tidy and modern, and the view of the Yarra River from your room.

Please accept our apologies once again for any of the issues which encountered during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
4,026 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,830 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: HK$876 - HK$2,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing