We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk in dinner”

The French Brasserie
Ranked #30 of 4,560 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Instantly welcoming the French Brasserie offers a relaxing sanctuary at the top end of town. Soaring ceilings and vast glass expanses achieve a chic contemporary atmosphere while friendly attentive staff anticipate your every need. Open for lunch Monday - Friday and dinner Monday - Saturday it continues to exceed the expectations of its guests who can choose to sit upstairs in the mezzanine area, inside at intimate tables or relax outside on the terrace. Express Lunch - Mon-Fri - 2 courses with a beverage $35ppPre-Theatre Menu - Tues-Sat - 2 courses with a beverage $39.50pp(Condtions Apply - Must order before 7.pm - Seating Time - 6.00pm-8.00pm)
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

On a cold and windy Melbourne night we wanted to have some good warm french onion soup. While the service was amazing, place is really nice, we where a bit disappointed with the food. Soup was so so, and other meals the same. We had much better french food in Melbourne.

2  Thank saca27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Guest Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Bonjour saca27,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that you were able to take some reprieve from the weather. We're glad to hear that our staff were friendly and took care of you. I'm sorry to hear that the food wasn't as it should have been. I'm unsure if you mentioned it at the time to our staff or team, as we would have been only to happy to review or remedy.

Please accept our apologies, and we I'll be sure to review and discuss with our team, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Merci,

Chrissy S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Bunked off work, swung by home and collected the hubby and we strolled into the CBD. An A frame sign advertising $35 two course lunch & a glass of wine - sounds good! And it really was. Choice of two dishes: entree, main & dessert (you choose which two courses). The service is great, friendly and attentive and the atmosphere reminiscent of a Paris bistro. We both went entree/main. Appetising terrine each which was very generous in size and tasty too. Chicken for me and Salmon for the hubby. Bread & butter on the side (no longer to be taken for granted in some of our better restaurants anymore). My chicken dish was delicious and hubby very happy with his salmon. Quaffed our wine, enjoyed our meal and off for a nice stroll through the city. Highly recommend it as a stop on your urban experience in Melbourne.

3  Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Guest Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Bonjour Naomi K,

We're pleased to hear that you both took in a visit and afternoon here with us at The French Brasserie. We'r pleased to hear that you made the most of our lunch offer, which is incredibly great value and very popular. I'm certain others contemplating a visit who've yet to find us before, will find your review of benefit.

I'll be sure to pass on your kind words and compliments onto our chef and team.

Merci for your recommendation, we appreciate it and we hope to see you again soon,

Chrissy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We had a dinner with friends and the food really is up to scratch! Jules was an outstanding waiter and Hadj was delightful. A truly enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Guest Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your kind words and lovely feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our staff and team. Hadj is one of our owners, and he is without a doubt a fantastic host and face for the restaurant. His passion for food, fun and the industry is infectious. We're pleased to hear that was conveyed and made for a great experience and we thank you for your review.

we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Degustation menu was well executed. The long pause between courses perhaps could have been shortened. The only course i didnt really get on with was the soup, but luckily there were many well executed courses which followed.

1  Thank williamgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Bonjour williamgore,

Thanks for your kind words, feedback, review and recommendation. We're pleased to hear there were elements of the degustation menu you enjoyed, and that there was only one course that you didn't get on with. We are glad to hear you had a good time, and that you enjoyed the food.

I'll be certain to pass on your comments to our staff and team.

Merci and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

What an Unforgettable experience we had at The French Brasserie. My husband and 3 yr old son went there to celebrate Bastille Day. The 3 course menu was well thought of with Signature French dishes on offer. I had the French Onion Soup, which was sweet and full of flavour. The Boeuf Bourguignon was faultless and delicately full of flavour. The Creme Brûlée was silky smooth and parfait!
Not only was the food amazing, the staff were exceptionally attentive and brilliant! They all spoke French which made the experience authentic and special. Mireille was our waitress and she was absolutely unbelievable! She was fun, vibrant, quick and made my son and us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant. Not only was Mireille phenomenal, Sarah, Pepe and Hadj the owner treated us like we were the only customers on earth. I thank each of you for making our night so memorable. Added to all of this, we were serenaded with a 2 piece orchestra playing French favourites. There was a young couple sitting a few tables away and the young male was crying when he heard a classic. It was adorable. Thank you to the team @ The French Brasserie, you are one of a kind and we will absolutely be back! X

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Britt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Bonjour Britt C,

Thanks for your kind words, feedback, review and recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you were able to join us for the Bastille Day celebrations. We are glad to hear you had a great time, and that you enjoyed the food, wine and service.

I'll be certain to pass on your comments to our staff and team.

Merci and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Brasserie also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Richmond, Yarra
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The French Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing