We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4,484 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Where to start , what an amazing experience a must see and do , we booked a luncheon date 2 hours of Fantastic food attentive staff who looked after everything from food to drinks and overall making our trip , a complement to the team on carriage 6 Warwick , Emina , Matt and chef Virakt , we had a trip back in time looking at the old buildings and most of all sat in a tram eating and drinking together on a 50th birthday and 25 wedding anniversary- a must if in Melbourne .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

We were party of 8 for two 70th birthdays. Enjoyed the meal, steak was delicious. Our waiter Joe was great especially when he burst into song - great atmosphere. What an asset he is to your business. Enjoyed the sights from the tram windows. For visitors give them a map of the route taken showing name of areas going through.
Suggestion - do a deal with one of the cake shops in Ackland St. When tram arrives they supply assortment of cakes to be handed around on a platter???
We had a lovely afternoon, thanks

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Iprime,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We certainly agree that Joe is an asset to our business – we are lucky to have him!

Thank you for your suggestion about the map. The reason we do not provide this is that our route can vary from day to day depending on advice from Yarra Trams regarding traffic, road works, events, and other disruptions, so the route for each service is determined just before the trams depart. For this reason, we would not be able to have a partnership with a shop on Ackland St. or anywhere else, as there is no guarantee that our trams would go past the shop each day. We will definitely keep your suggestions in mind should this change.

I am glad that you had a lovely afternoon with us, and I hope you will join us aboard again soon!

Kind regards,
Caroline | Reservations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We booked our meal to celebrate meeting up with my sister and her family and our son. Despite a bit of difficulties getting to the tram stop because Google messed up our taxi booking, we felt better as soon as we were welcomed onto our tram by Athip, our chef, and Melanie and Mathew, our waiters. The staff were welcoming, cheerful and efficient throughout the Evening despite having to work in cramped conditions on a moving tram. The tram was decorative and comfortable with old-fashioned school white linen. The food was delicious with a choice of starters and mains. My husband's vegetation options were delicious and well presented. The drinks kept coming and were included in the price. We saw the sights of Melbourne including Myer's Christmas window and stopped to stretch our legs in Albert Park where the staff helped us to take photos. Best to book in twos, fours or sixes as that's how the tables are arranged. A great night out and lots of fun. Worth the quite expensive charge as it is a unique experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aderynbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Having had a lovely time on the tram last year we decided to celebrate a birthday again with a party of four. Unfourtunatly we experienced a rowdy crowd of ten on our tram car which ruined the night. We asked the tram waiter (Peter) if he could please do something to control the excessive noise while dining. He was observed to approach the rabble and sided with them which resulted in further conflict.
Wow, my wife and I were abused by the crowd. Nice job mate!! Will never return or recommend this restaurant to anyone in there future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Peter,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Your feedback has been passed on to the relevant departments and will be addressed further at our upcoming management meeting.

All of our staff work extremely hard to ensure our passengers have an enjoyable time on board, including our reservations team who puts a lot of thought and effort into the seating arrangement for the day’s services. Unfortunately on the evening you travelled, we were looking after multiple groups on board and had little alternative in seating groups away from other diners.

On behalf of the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant I apologise that you were seated near rowdy passengers. Unfortunately we can never predict the behaviour of our passengers and our team will always strive to ensure the Tramcar experience is enjoyed by all.

I have passed your feedback on to Peter and I have also met with our reservations team and fellow management to further identity improvements to the booking processes in the hope this will ensure optimal seating allocations for future reservations.

I am sorry that you had a negative experience with us. Should you wish to discuss your feedback in any further detail I invite you to contact me directly at reservations@tramrestaurant.com.au.

Kind regards,
Caroline | Reservations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We have been on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant many times the menu is the same all the time with less courses
The Chicken was so tuff I ate one mouth full and left the rest presentation left a lot to be desired
The beef we were told it is to be served with asparagus and was served beans
Sorry you have lost us

Thank mmdillon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramcar R, Manager at The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear mmdillon4,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We greatly appreciate receiving all comments, and especially those of our repeat customers such as yourselves as they assist us in ensuring we continue to provide the best dining experience possible.

Our menu changes seasonally, usually twice a year, and the number of courses served depends on the service that you travel on: the Luncheon is 4 courses, the Early Dinner is 3 courses, and the Late Dinner is 5 courses.

I have passed on your feedback about the chicken to our Executive Chef, who along with our Management team, are conducting further investigation and adapting cooking procedures where required. We are very proud of the food quality produced in what could well be considered the smallest kitchen and your feedback will assist to ensure our food continues to be delivered to its highest standards.

I am sorry that you did not receive asparagus with your beef tenderloin. We state on the menu that it is served with seasonal greens as the vegetables vary depending on what is freshest and in season at the time. I apologise that this was not communicated to you properly.

I do hope that you will change your mind and join us aboard again in the future.

Kind regards,
Caroline | Reservations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing