We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
165
95
39
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
95
39
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train noise one bedroom apartment wash your face river view apartment flinders street crown casino southern cross station tram stop bathroom sink great gym living area apartment hotel top floor washing machine and dryer sized fridge apartment was great own meals
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here unexpectedly on AFL grand final night when our flight was cancelled. Fortunately the hotel were able to accommodate us. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but there was a lot of noise all night from the trains across the road and on the street.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We booked this apartment especially for its location close to Southern Cross and access to trams along Spencer Street to South Melbourne. It was easy to get the Skybus from the Airport and then walk 5-10 minutes from Southern Cross Station to Punthill. We've stayed at several Punthill apartments across Melbourne in the past and always found them to be reliable.

Northbank is reasonably new, about 2 years since it opened so all facilities and fittings are new and in good shape. Shower was especially good. There is also a washer and dryer if you need it. On the downside in the bathroom, the sink is impossible to use to wash your face because the tap protrubes into the sink too far! The bed was very comfortable.

We had a spacious apartment on the 6th floor, not high enough for the fabulous views you can get on higher floors but fine anyway. It can be quite noisy with the windows open due to the close proximity to trams on Flinders Street as well as trains coming from Flinders Station. But we closed the windows at night and weren't bothered by noise. It might have been useful to have a compendium of useful information in the room.

Staff were friendly and welcoming and we did meet Matthew the Manager in the elevator who was also very friendly and welcoming.

If you want to stock up on food for your stay, there is a 7/11 on the corner or you can go 5 minutes across to Southern Cross to Woolworths.

We stayed for five days and we would stay again when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I believe the higher floors have magnificent views.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punthill N, Manager at Punthill Northbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Helen,
Thank you for your recent stay with us, it was great to meet you. Your kind review of our property is appreciated an your feedback assists us greatly.

You mention the bathroom tap being too long for the sink and I agree with you and we have almost finished replacing all of the taps with a shorter one and have since replaced the one in the apartment you stayed in. I think you'll find the new solution much better.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

Thank you again for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Mathew Doyle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

I stayed at the Punthill Northbank Appartments for business, which I found to be excellent. The rooms are clean, the bed feels like you are sleeping on a cloud. I was on the 15th floor across from the elevators and did not hear a thing and had a great sleep. I recommend the Punthill Northbank Appartments.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Vickib114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punthill N, Manager at Punthill Northbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Vicki,
Thank you for your kind review of our property after your recent stay. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our beds like "sleeping on a cloud".

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

Thank you again for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Mathew Doyle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Ultra modern building in a great location with trams basically at your front door and a shoer walk to Southern Cross Station. Well equipped kitchen and fair sized rooms. Television is in Kitchen/sitting room so not ideal. The position of the vanity basin in the bathroom makes it very difficult to wash your face. all in all good value for money for stays of several days.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punthill N, Manager at Punthill Northbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay after your recent visit to Melbourne. It is fantastic to read that you found our apartments well equipped and fair sized rooms. I hope you stay with us again as I think you'll find our recent bathroom tap replacements make the vanity easier to use.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

Thank you again for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Mathew Doyle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great location, self sufficient and contained. Great living studio apartment space. Only downsides are that in winter, though the heater is turned on to max, it can still be quite chilly. The floor to ceiling glass windows also require mindful closure of blinds unless you want to accidentally flash the neighbors located in the opposite complex.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Rayson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punthill N, Manager at Punthill Northbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Rayson,
Thank you for your recent stay with and for taking the time to review our property. I agree that we are in a great location and believe our apartments offer everything for a comfortable stay.
When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

Thank you again for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,
Mathew Doyle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews