We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Friday Night”
Review of seamstress

seamstress
Ranked #68 of 4,656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Searched high and low for a restaurant to catch up with friends over dinner. Fabulous choice. Outstanding service, our waiter provided a range of suggestions for wines, followed by a question on how hungry we were. What followed was an offer to curate our meal for the evening, including catering for a piscatarian among us. The dishes were delightful, each one an amazing mix of colours and flavours. More drinks, all excellent, followed by a choice of all 3 deserts, shared by the four of us (as we couldnt make a decision). Again, each dish incredible. Aperitifs / sticky wines to finish, and a very happy group of dinners, whom will be sure to return.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Go_Home_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018

Called in prior to theatre on the off chance for a table and they accommodated us because we would be out in an hour. The meal was terrific, shared dishes and the staff were just absolutely delightful and funny and helpful.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Visited Seamstress a second time, seven years later and it exceeded our expectations. The service and food is both excellent. Really, it's that good! Highly recommend the Braised Beef Short-Ribs with Pickled Beetroot Infused Cabbage. Dishes are small, medium and large share plates of Asian fusion food. Delightfully delicious and quite rich so you don't really need much. The crisp Brussel Sprout dish also a treat and works well with the Braised Beef.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank campouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

We were a new team of seven from work that had dinner here. By the end of the meal we had conversation flowing started by the wonderful food and wine. The waiter was friendly and very informative and helpful. We chose the $65 savory menu and it did not disappoint. Will definitely recommend the seamstress.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sumitha5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

One of the main reasons that we chose this place was its close proximity to the Comedy Theatre. We advised the staff when we booked that we had a show to see at 7. This was reiterated to wait staff when we arrived at 5:35. Despite all this we had to leave before receiving our main course. What little food we did have, while quite expensive, was good.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed seamstress also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to seamstress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing