We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Pasta than in Italy”
Review of Templo

Templo
Ranked #30 of 680 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This is a hidden gem and would never have found it if not for a recommendation. We had the gnocchi and tagliatelle Ragu and was the best Italian meal we have ever had. Service was great, size of restaurant was cosy. Overall fantastic restaurant

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Stefm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018

This is an exemplary restaurant offering superb food, at very reasonable prices. Four of us (of a max of 20, across two sittings - we went for the second sitting at 8.30, which is perhaps better due to less time pressure) - all had the fixed menu, at $65pp, which is one of each of eight courses. We shared two of each of the eight courses between us, and had way more than enough food. Of the eight, three were superlative, and five merely wonderful. In a Sydney or Melbourne setting, the booking wait time would be months, and the price possibly 50% higher. The staff were focused and intense - in a good way; the space is tiny and in between serving, they were doing the washing up. We shared the eight-person communal table; this may not suit everyone but the other four at the table were delightful and happy to converse.

This is a knockout, deeply charming, deeply capable restaurant serving excellent food at value prices. Visit Hobart, plan to visit Templo. Just book well ahead.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LaurenceWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

The chef's menu was a wonderful culinary journey condensed into a two hour session, glad we did the second sitting (no pressure to depart quickly as next diners arrived). Some of the matching wines were beautifully on song, others pleasant distractions from the satisfying menu of predominantly vegetarian dishes with lots of nuts, reductions and pickles in the mix. Silky smooth trevalla and a delightful pork sausage provided carnivore bliss.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Catherinetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I enjoyed dinner at Templo with two others, seated on a big communal table. Although they do have smaller tables that aren't communal, don't go here if you find strangers awkward as the space is very small and intimate. The 3 of us enjoyed the set tasting menu and were not disappointed. Everything was absolutely exquisite. Coupled with the small but airy space, the kitchen right beside you and friendly staff - we enjoyed a great night out. Good wine too!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MzPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This is the second time we have taken the time to eat at this wonderful restaurant and were not disappointed again, we had the Chefs Menu which is an 8 course tasting menu and it was amazing. Very friendly staff and fabulous food. Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Templo also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Templo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing