We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to earth seafood”
Review of Mures Lower Deck

Mures Lower Deck
Ranked #23 of 89 Quick Bites in Hobart
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Jill & George Mure opened Tasmania's first licensed seafood restaurant, Mures Fish House, in 1973 in Hobart. When they struggled to source quality, fresh, local seafood, George went fishing. More than 40 years on, now owned by Will & Jude Mure, Mures remains a favourite of locals and visitors alike, located in Hobart's working fishing port at Victoria Dock. Mures' philosophy of fresh Australian seafood, sourced from sustainably managed fisheries still rings true from the ocean to the plate. At Lower Deck you can enjoy a wide variety of seafood from the licensed Bistro, including Mures' own line caught blue eye trevalla, as you take in the sights and sounds of the waterfront. Start the day off right with breakfast by the docks, served daily from 7am. Check out the vast array of Australian seafood at the Fishmongers including rock lobster, salmon, scallops and mussels, where you can order freshly shucked Tasmanian oysters from the Oyster Bar. Mures' own range of gourmet seafood products, Tasmanian wines, cider and recipe books are also available. Finish off with a local roasted coffee or choose from 32 flavours of ice cream at the Cafe.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Great venue on the waterfront for excellent seafood staples. I got a fisherman's basket which was very good quality. You can buy wine and beer from the counter too..

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank NalinW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2021

Went yesterday with my partner for lunch. We're locals who love seafood but don't normally go to Mures because it's quite crowded, but decided to give it a shot and were really disappointed in what we got.
The fresh produce looks great, but the dine-in meals were mediocre at best - temperature of the meal was pretty inconsistent all over, my fish was overcooked, his was obviously frozen crumbed fish and the squid rings were stone cold. Chips were lukewarm and the salad was just a bowl of lettuce with a really sad-looking drizzle of dressing over the top.

If you're visiting Hobart and really want to experience our amazing local seafood, go literally anywhere else.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank finnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

We ate the “big breakfast” which was not only excellent, but huge (I couldn’t finish mine). We sat outside, which was lovely in the sun with the beautiful scenery of the Hobart docks.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank westanj2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Recently dined here twice with family group.
Flavia(?), front of house, very accommodating of special diet requirements, very much appreciated, even when restaurant busy with evening diners.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank I7972HZstephenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Reminded me of San Francisco's fisherman's wharf only better. Food was great so fresh lots of people and lots of seafood If you want more fine dinning you can go upstairs. I would definitely recommend a meal here

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank dorry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mures Lower Deck also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mures Lower Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.