We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, service and atmosphere”

Maldini Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 679 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Salamanca, Maldini is a friendly Italian restaurant with its roots firmly planted within the Tasmanian context.
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

The service was great and the menu choices were varied. We shared the bruschetta, the Tasmanian scallop gnocchi and the spaghetti arrabiata which were both very nice. We sat outside underneath the heated umbrellas which was lovely and warm.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank mowen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

As locals this used to be one of our favourite mid-range 'go to's'. We always found the food good and the service attentive. After a return visit last night with interstate friends we decided it will be a last visit. Food still great, but the overall noise was deafening and conversation was limited because of this. This is the sole reason for my 3 stars. Maldini's has concrete everything and other hard surfaces which magnifies every noise including the open kitchen.
Such a shame as otherwise lovely. Accoustic control is possible these days. Put some noise reduction batts on the ceiling and we'll be back...but not before.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mf99ccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Lovely location on Salamanca Place, excellent & interesting food, and a great meeting place for friends. Great wine list.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _lille4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

I took my comedian mates, Judith Lucy and Denis Scott, after their sold out Spiegeltent performance. It was worse than terrible. Waited one and a half hours for some pasta. My gnocci became something akin to chicken cubes immersed in a sea of garlic and completely inedible. When we complained about the extraordinary wait time and amount of garlic, 'Manager' said they were very busy and then turned his language into extreme impoliteness and used the word "ladies" as a perjorative. Then he said WE were too loud and other tables had complained about us. What utter BS. Restaurant is so loud you can hardly hear yourself speak.... then he upped the ante, telling us "never to come back". Not a problem mate. I have never had such a bad experience in a restaurant in all my many years of eating at them. Just don't go. It's diabolical.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank rachelkerrandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dante D, Manager at Maldini Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear rachelkerrandbob

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are grateful for the opportunity to address your concerns and to clear up some details it appears you have forgotten.

1. As printed on our time-stamped order docket you did not wait one and a half hours for your pasta. Your table enjoyed an entrée, followed by your main meals within an hour and ten minutes. On an extremely busy night (hint: a sold out Spiegeltent equals an equally busy night at a restaurant in the vicinity), we feel as though this is appropriate timing for our style of restaurant.

2. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your gnocchi, which is advertised in the menu as “potato and garlic” gnocchi (therefore it is reasonable to surmise that the dish would contain a healthy amount of garlic). Despite this, because we value customer feedback and as an act of good faith, the owner deducted this meal from your bill. Even though you attempted to have all the meals discounted from your table, your dining partners told the owner that they enjoyed their fish of the day and the marinara pasta.

3. You displayed such disruptive behaviour (eg zooming around on your dining chair - almost bumping into our staff members and other tables, and breaking a glass on your way out), people were so pleased to see you leave that they actually applauded when you were exiting the building.

4. For some reason you have chosen not to recount how you and your dining partners swore at, mimicked, raised your voices at, and mocked the owner. It was because of your completely unacceptable behaviour that he asked you not to return: behaviour such as that displayed by you and your friends will not – nor should it – be tolerated, no matter how “famous” you, or they, are. The safety and comfort of our staff and other diners is of upmost importance to us.

We hope that the above comments have assisted you in remembering your evening in more detail, and thank you for the opportunity for us to provide a more balanced understanding of the evening.

Kind regards
The Maldini team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Was very happy with all our meals , I loved my pumpkin risotto, it was perfect. Will be one of my favourite restaurants now

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank fussyhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maldini Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Maldini Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing