We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/08/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/07/21
ExpediaUS$173
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
200
34
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
200
34
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews battery point bay window spa bath sandy bay salamanca markets beautiful hotel old mansion minute walk water view quiet area perfect location recommend staying here comfy bed sitting room street parking restaurants and cafes annette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

We were checked in late and everything was so well communicated and catered for us. The place is so beautifully done. So thoughtful. We didn’t want to leave! The room is stunning with little details that demonstrated to us that someone was thinking about the comfort for the guests. We are recommending and we will be back there again and again. Well done Ashley! Thank you for your hospitality.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 641tatiannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fleming, Owner at Grand Vue Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you so much for you fantastic review. Cant wait for you to come back . so happy you loved your stay. Warm Regards Ash and Brock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021

Spent two stints at this great property. First 3 nights and then another two nights. This is a beautiful property in Battery Point, surrounded by wonderful architecture and close to restaurants and cafes.
The rooms are large and very nicely decorated with all of the thoughtful touches that make things just that bit easier.
Short walk into the port area and CBD.
Street parking is always available
Hosts Ashley and Brock go the extra mile all the time and are full of suggestions to make sure the Tassie experience is one you will remember.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Request ground floor if you don’t want to climb a simple one flight of stairs.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bthommo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fleming, Owner at Grand Vue Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you so much for you lovely review! Yes we love our little town and Tasi and so happy to give suggestions. Thanks again and look forward to next visit . Warm Regards Ash and Brock ( new owners from December 2020 )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

This accommodation is stunning! All the perks of a 5 star, high-end hotel but with a bespoke twist. Very boutique with that "BnB" type feel, it honestly felt like we were well-looked after guests in a beautiful mansion. We had incredible views of the bay from our room where we were delighted with a gorgeous sunrise each morning. The room was extremely comfortable and cozy. 20-minute walk right into Hobart, or a 5 minute Uber trip. Definitely a must if you're wanting a relaxing getaway in a quiet area, yet close to all the main attractions you'll want to do while you visit.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 506meagand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021

We chose the Grande Vue because of its location (historic Battery Point), its old world charm and, well, its grand view. And it didn't disappoint. It's just over a 10-minute walk to Salamanca Place and around 15 minutes to Brooke St Pier (ferry to MONA). Solid old mansion house in a quiet neighbourhood. Common areas decorated and arranged with care. Warm reception. The room was delighfully decorated and immaculately clean. The sweeping view over the trees and water was spectacular. Thank you, Brock and Ashley. We look forward to seeing you next time for a longer stay. PS Thank you for the freshly baked friands!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fleming, Owner at Grand Vue Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Hi Philip , thank you so much for your fantastic review. So happy you loved the house and there will be more friands on your return! Warm Regards Ash and Brock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

What else can I say? The Grand Vue is the best! A beautiful building filled with thoughtful touches in a perfect location.

Brock, the host and owner was so professional and thoughtful, providing us a number of recommendations on where to eat/ what to do which made our time in Hobart so much better.

Our room had views of the water over the rooftops of the beautiful Battery Point heritage architecture. The hotel has sitting rooms and a very well equipped kitchen and dining room which has a huge vista over Sandy Bay.

We will be returning to the Grand Vue every time we stay in Hobart - although the way they are going it will probably booked out!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank benjaming3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fleming, Owner at Grand Vue Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Hi Ben , thank you for your fantastic review. So happy you loved your stay and we look forward to seeing you next visit. Warm Regards Ash and Brock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews