We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don’t bother”

The Duke of Brunswick
Ranked #2 of 19 Bars & Pubs in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Description: The world outside, doesn't matter here. Designed to be the perfect place to relax and unwind or to gear up for a busy day, the Duke of Brunswick Hotel located on Gilbert street Adelaide is a beautiful heritage listed building. As Adelaide's only pub with a 100% Gluten Free kitchen you are guaranteed a safe dining experience without fear or risk of cross contamination. Our burgers and Parmys are loved by all our patrons not just those diagnosed with coeliac disease. With an impressive selection of Whisky, Gin and Spirits as well as a keen love for an old fashioned cocktail. The Duke of Brunswick is the place you come to be "Seriously Social" and let the rest of the world disappear for a few hours.
Restaurant details
Description: The world outside, doesn't matter here. Designed to be the perfect place to relax and unwind or to gear up for a busy day, the Duke of Brunswick Hotel located on Gilbert street Adelaide is a beautiful heritage listed building. As Adelaide's only pub with a 100% Gluten Free kitchen you are guaranteed a safe dining experience without fear or risk of cross contamination. Our burgers and Parmys are loved by all our patrons not just those diagnosed with coeliac disease. With an impressive selection of Whisky, Gin and Spirits as well as a keen love for an old fashioned cocktail. The Duke of Brunswick is the place you come to be "Seriously Social" and let the rest of the world disappear for a few hours.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

You have to book but, do yourself a favour, Adelaide is full of places to eat that do not make you wait 50 mins for a steak that is so tough, even the steak knife can’t cope. The gloopy sauce is straight out of a packet. They serve red wine laced with the dregs from the bottom of the bottle & there’s the nastiest tempered bloke behind the bar.
Quite why people eat there is beyond my comprehension!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Kevin-Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2021

We are in town for a short time and stopped off at The DoB. We were absolutely blown away by the amazing meals they produced. We basically inhaled both of our main courses because we couldn’t believe how delicious they were. Well presented, brilliantly cooked and left us wanting to come back. Highly recommend the food here.
The service was second to none. Eden, who was working behind the bar (along with another gentleman) provided friendly and attentive service. I almost wanted to MOVE to Adelaide! Thank you for a memorable experience!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank JActon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

We've been to the DoB several times now and have not been disappointed. Their food is really great, even better since it's coming from a 100% gluten-free kitchen. Their 50c wings on Tuesday nights are delish. The staff there are wonderful and service is fast and efficient. If we lived closer we'd eat there more often! The sheer joy of eating and not having to worry about being 'glutened'! I can't wait until they start offering breakfasts again but will continue to have lunches and dinners there! Thank you :-)

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

Great pub atmosphere, beer garden and food and beverage options to cater for everyone. How great it was to be able to have a good selection of real pub food for those in our group who usually struggle to get fed at a pub due to medical issues or lifestyle choices. No soggy pumpkin risotto!!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trippikitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

We searched for a place for my husband’s bday as he requires GF options. The whole family ate GF and absolutely loved our meal. Friendly staff and great wine list too. We will all be back

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Pat198112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke of Brunswick also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Duke of Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.