We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Absolutely lovely. The moment we drove in we were greeted by a uniformed man, who opened the car door for us, and helped us with our luggage. When we checked in the staff were friendly and professional. Our luggage was delivered to our room and to our surprise, on the neatly made bed was a chocolate! The pool is lovely, the spa is divine and the sauna is amazing. They have a lovely gym which is next to the pool. Meals are expensive, but worth it. All staff are helpfull. This isn't really a "Family Hotel" but the fold out beds are VERY comfortable. The view out the window isn't the best, but honestly, the room is so good you don't even need a view. Perfection time after time.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 703 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2016

I was in Adelaide for a Conference and stayed at the Playford. It was a wonderful place to stay and so central to everything. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a suite which was absolutely fantastic. The staff were outstanding and so very helpful and a credit to the establishment. P&M

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank roger32_linda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We arrived at the Playford Hotel after being on the Indian Pacific train from Perth for 2 days and 2 nights and we were booked into this hotel. It is a lovely hotel with great staff. We arrived at 7.30 in the morning and our room wasn't ready (as we expected) but they took our luggage from us and gave us a voucher for coffee in the bar/café area and said they would get our room ready asap (within 2 hours if possible). True to their word the room was ready and it was a great space. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and the staff and food could not be faulted. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

On a recent visit to Adelaide visited the Casino which was a magnificent building however was not impressed with the Dining facilities on offer. Upon leaving walked past the Playford and saw a lovely dining room with well dressed staff and decided to go on in and see for ourselves. The service from the young waiter was immaculate a term I don't use loosely having worked in the industry for 20 years. My usual beer followed by a bottle of SA wine my wife had a gluten free fish meal and I had the Steak fillet with a cigar (which was in that shape and even the waiter couldn't tell me what it contained) it was lovely, served on a bed of mashed potato. What a great evening.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,385 reviews
0.2 km away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.8 km away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.9 km away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 55 in Adelaide
1,795 reviews
0.4 km away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $964 - $3,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing