We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special birthday party”

Blue Velvet Adelaide
Ranked #757 of 1,856 Restaurants in Adelaide
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Décor was excellent and staff attentive. The place was exceptionally noisy. We were split from from the main area but we still had to shout at times to be heard. The toilets smelt very bad... like they hadn't been cleaned for a while. The food looked extra special. The Vegan pizza was bland with little taste and probably the worst I have ever tasted. The vegan entre again looked delicious but the base was watery flavour. The desert was delicious but quit expensive.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2021

Blue Velvet was a very enjoyable night out for 8 of us on NYE ( 5 Italians, a Greek, a Malaysian & me, the only Skip). It was a set menu with very generous serves of antipasti, breads, olives, gnocchi & unlimited pizza for $65 per person (I think we managed 5 plate-sized pizzas between 8 people). The beetroot gnocchi was made by the owner/manager but didn't appeal to us - too creamy & bland but many people may love it. All the other food was great (but lots of carbs & no sign of salad). The staff were terrific. It's BYO but we baulked at the $20 per bottle corkage & opted to order from the wine list (only four reds but the Nero d'Avola was excellent). The manager did take the trouble to come to our table about the corkage & offered the excuse that it's normally $15 (quoted over the phone as $10) but being a public holiday she has to pay her staff more. Only problem is that NYE is not a public holiday! We also got charged $3 a bottle for filtered machine-produced tap water. Anyway, a good night with a few truly Italian staff (& friends). Would I go back - yes.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deekae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Thank you for the most delicious Red Velvet cake you made, your service was second to non even called to check on allergies. There were fights for seconds.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cakefinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Awesome food , absolutely loved the desserts too . I could not recommend this place more , so happy we have found it

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kayla390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

And I just can't put my finger on it. Pizza ticks all the boxes, but even after multiple attempts it just lacks a bit of flavour. Not sure why.

Venue is OK but pretty cramped, even in a COVID world.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vacuity86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Velvet Adelaide also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Blue Velvet Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.