We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Sailaway
from US$193.60
More Info
from US$193.60
More Info
from US$47.50
More Info
from US$193.60
More Info
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveller rating
1,205
154
45
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,205
154
45
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise low isles fish glass bottom boat afternoon trip sail home fantastic afternoon beautiful catamaran the great barrier reef island tour finger food outer reef giant clams small group friendly crew prawns afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Glen, Vasco and Maddi were all fantastic, knowledgeable and friendly. The waters and Marine life were incredible, and we got to swim with turtles! Highly recommend this tour, perfect for couples or families.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We booked with this crowd after reading up about it on the brochures and on TA. The pros we thought would be a shorter ride to the coral on a smaller boat, rather than wrestling with the crowds on the trip to the outer reef. We should have listen more to our tour guide at the local caravan park, who recommend a different trip (similar). We were picked up on time by a very friendly driver, who chatted all the way to the marina. Dropped off and check in - all very nice. The catamaran was awesome - nice and new and very comfortable. The crew, once we were welcomed on board, were also very nice and friendly. However, that’s were we started to go downhill. Lots of people started to arrive - we totalled 30 I think - which was OK from the cruise perspective, but for snorkelling it was not pleasant. The ride out to the isles took about an hour and a bit and was a bit rough for some (not sure why people go on these cruises when they get sea sick in 1.5 m waves, but then again their call). Arrived at Low Isle which was calmer, then we kitted up for snorkelling. Crew were very attentive for both those who were snorkelling confident and those who weren’t, so thumbs up to them. Got the glass bottom boat to the island then spilt into 2 groups for snorkelling. We went with the advanced group (about 15 of us) and it would have been lovely if a) we could see some coral and fish - it was very murky (blamed on the high winds) and b) we didn’t get smacked in the face several times by fellow snorkellers. Tried to avoid them and spent most of my time trying to avoid being smacked than enjoying the views. Wasn’t that pleasant and, to be honest, the coral wasn’t that inspiring despite the crew trying to say how important this area is from a research perspective. About an hours worth of snorkelling before returning to the island for the island tour with the crew. Could have done this bit ourselves as all the information was on boards, but was nice enough wandering around for 15 mins anyway. Back on board the catamaran lunch was served (very nice) and the afternoon activities commenced. We were contemplating a second snorkel from the boat, but then saw the number of people who were taking part and didn’t want a repeat of the morning, so went for the glass bottom boat tour instead. As with other reviews, the glass wasn’t that clear and the coral not that exciting. We did see some turtles though and a few fish, but not what we were expecting (and compared to the trip we had out of Airlie Beach). Back on board we returned to Port Douglas, some of the way by sail which was nice, but then the wind dropped and the engine was turned on again.

So I wish we had gone to the outer reef to see better coral and fish, but did like the catamaran, the food and the crew. Didn’t like the number of people in the snorkelling groups (too many for a pleasant snorkel), and the coral and fish viewing wasn’t that good. And the weather wasn’t the best either, although better than if we had stayed in Port Douglas.

So a bit ho hum... Maybe we have been spoilt with our trip in Airlie Beach, I don’t know.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank charlottej96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailawayPortDouglas, Owner at Sailaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your coming out with us and you reflections, glad you enjoyed many aspects of our trip with a wonderful luxury catamaran and crew. Sorry to hear the weather was not as kind as the last time you experienced going out to the reef, although calm if wind dropped off enough to add motor on way homes. We do only cater for small groups and the guiding is optional, as many visitors appreciate expert crew provide additional relevant information and Low Isles has a lot of history and great stories as well as enjoying time on island to complemnet the varied day.
There is plenty of space to avoid being congested when snorkelling including the 2nd session in deeper water from the back of boat which you choose not to do, also you can be independent from the guided group as long as capable and safe. We do also offer outer reef sailing and snorkelling to spectacular Mackay Coral Cay. Seems the weather was not the best but did including turtles and sailing on a beautiful yacht to a sheltered island, the closest part of GBR to mainland. Every day at the reef is different and as you state always better than staying on land even if the weather (beyond our control) is less inspiring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The staff and facilities were top quality.
staff were attentive as we are beginners.
All equipment was provided. Food was very good. Gave us confidence to do more next year.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ma098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Love these guys and gals .. great crew great food great views , just all great!! Thanks again I'm a returning customer for the sunset cruise and you guys never disappoint!! ⭐️✨⛵️

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Was a great sail out to low isles and crew was awesome - very safe and personable. Nice for couples or small group, recommend if poor on time! Sunset back was lovely! Thanks guys!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Taya Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews