We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disappointment”
Review of Gambaro

Gambaro
Ranked #92 of 5,047 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Winner of Best Seafood Restaurant in the 2014 QLD Restaurant and Catering Awards for Excellence.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

It almost seemed that we ended up in the wrong restaurant or had been relegated to a function room. Right from the beginning the noise was ear splitting and tables so closely pushed together that waitpersons and customers were brushing passed. Although crisp white table cloths had been a signature trademark for years they no longer exist. My entree of Kingfish Tartare was tasteless and looked like it was just thrown onto the plate. There was nothing wrong with my Salmon but even the most basic cook could have produced this dish which I would venture to say was the same for the rest of my fellow diners’ meals. The desserts (strawberries & rhubarb Eton Mess and Baked plums on an almond cake base) were equally uninspiring and the sorbet dessert just two scoops in a glass tumbler. Service throughout the night was mediocre with each course having a lengthy delay of one or two dishes to the extent that the entree calamari dishes became rubbery during the wait. At best this establishment is a noisy overpriced bistro.

Thank Michaelgo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Michael,

We are very sorry to read your review and would like the opportunity to speak with you in person to obtain further information relating to your experience.

As you can see by our previous reviews and our recent awards, the feedback is not consistent with the standard that Gambaro Seafood Restaurant strives to provide and is know for.

If you would like to speak in person, please contact the admin office on 07 3369 9500 ext 935.

Sincere Regards,
GM Gambaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018

We were travelling overseas and stayed in the hotel overnight. We were looking for a quality light meal so elected to go to the Seafood Restaurant.
I ordered the Fish (Snapper) which was very good (Serving a bit small for some I guess but for me ok). I ordered sides of Chips, Heirloom Tomatoes and Beetroot and Apple salad. My Wife ordered Ravoli (Small) which was very nice)
The poor rating was because.
Heirloom Tomato Salad was soft floury and tasteless ordinary tomatoes
Beetroot and Apple Salad absolutely tasteless
Chips just cooked White hardly coloured
The meals including the sides were served individually at short but significantly delayed intivals to be annoying
All in all not good enough at this price point for some parts to be very good and others Poor

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear John,

Sorry we did not meet your full expectations of your dining experience. We are glad you enjoyed our Snapper and Ravoli however we are sorry to hear that the sides were not as you expect or to the high standard we are known for.

We at Gambaro Seafood Restaurant try to please all our customers and we sincerely hope that one day you will come and visit us again.

Sincere Regards,
GM Gambaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Booked Gambaro's for a special occasion and was not disappointed.

The restaurant is upmarket in nature and presents accordingly. The staff and service is of the highest standard without encroaching on too much formality.

We went for the seafood and this they do very well. After a discussion on the menu with out wait-staff, we opted for a shared entree followed by the seafood platter for two: all grilled and including oysters, prawns, bugs, calamari, cockles and crab: quite expensive but with alot of food and certainly a worthwhile option ( eg included eight oysters on the platter).

I am a coeliac and the menu itself caters well for a gluten free diet with gf dishes clearly identified. The wait-staff are also knowledgable on the matter and could suggest how other dishes could be modified, if necessary, to suit. We did this with the calamari on the seafood platter.

Accompanied by a good bottle of white, we had a lovely meal. Also, being a special occasion, we were not allowed to go without a complimentary glass of bubbly.

In our opinion, best upmarket seafood dining experience to be had in Brisbane.

Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Bobjanh,

Thank you for your excellent review.

So glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We always strive to uplift our standards and ensure to be very consistent in the quality of the product we deliver. Thank you again for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we shall strive to earn that extra star.

Kind regards,
GM Gambaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Have been dining at Gambaros for over 40 years and the food has always been exceptional - however my dining experience on Saturday night was extremely disappointing - the fish and scallop pie was dreadful - dry and smothered in crumbs
even the hot seafood basket was not up to the usual high quality

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allanroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Allan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback for your dining experience at Gambaro Seafood Restaurant.

First and foremost, I extend our apologies regarding your disappointing experience and have forwarded your response onto our Chef for them to further look into this feedback.

If you would like to speak in person, please contact the admin office on 07 3369 9500 ext 935.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know and I hope we hear from you soon to give us the opportunity to invite you back.

Sincere Regards,

GM Gambaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

A very beautiful luncheon experience. Great food, great service and can't wait for a return to experience more.

1  Thank Kaaren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Kaaren,

Thank you so much for your review, we are always happy when our customers have a great experience at our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

GM Gambaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gambaro also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Gambaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing