We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free walking tour”

Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.81*
and up
Afternoon Brisbane Photography Tour
Ranked #63 of 391 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether its tour and accommodation bookings, event and entertainment information, brochures and maps, or general tourist advice, the Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre in the Queen Street Mall have it all covered. This accredited Visitor Information and Booking Centre is a one-stop-shop of travel services covering the Brisbane, Moreton Bay and Islands, Scenic Rim and Ipswich and Country Valley areas.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

One of our highlights while visiting Brisbane. If you enjoy history this tour is highly recommended. John Goodship was not only very informative but had a great sense of humor. The tour lasts about 2 1/2 hours. This tour is a must for first timers to Brisbane.
Thank you John

3  Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghion, Manager at Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. John is a very dedicated volunteer at the Brisbane Visitor Information Centre. He loves showing off our beautiful city of Brisbane to all our Australian and International visitors.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"regent theatre"
in 12 reviews
"free walking tour"
in 6 reviews
"queen st mall"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"brisbane greeter"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful old building"
in 2 reviews
"central brisbane"
in 2 reviews
"public transport"
in 4 reviews
"city hall"
in 4 reviews
"tours"
in 15 reviews
"translink"
in 4 reviews
"volunteers"
in 5 reviews
"card"
in 6 reviews
"sights"
in 6 reviews
"interests"
in 2 reviews
"stories"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

I was helped by Libby, who gave me the perfect combination of trips to maximise my 3 days in Brisbane. Very professional and proactive, she managed to point me to all the experiences I wanted to have even if some of the trips I was interested in were not available during my stay. Thank you Libby!

Thank Gise74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghion, Manager at Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for positive feedback. Libby is a wonderful member of staff and very passionate about our beautiful city of Brisbane.

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

loved learning about this building ,, it was a theatre way back wen and a very interesting and sad story to be found

Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghion, Manager at Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for visiting the Brisbane visitor information centre located in the old Regent Theatre. It is one of the most beautiful buildings in the heart of Brisbane City. Once you come inside you're taken back in time. The paintings on the ceilings are amazing to see.
We hope to welcome you again soon to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

free 2.5 hour tour by a local , Alison . Well prepared as most retired school teachers are. Insightful and shared her personal experiences. Limited to a small group so you must sign up ahead. Saw sights that we would have missed in our 1 week stay in brisbane

1  Thank roger_d_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghion, Manager at Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Experiencing a Brisbane walk with one of our passionate local volunteers is a great way to get to know our beautiful City of Brisbane. We're happy you enjoyed it, thank you for choosing to come to Brisbane, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We booked a place on the free walking tour for the day after we had originally planned, as on the day we arrived it was fully booked, but it was definitely worth the wait. The tour with our guide, Sue, was interesting and informative, and unlike other 'free' tours we have taken in the past, there was no request for tips or donations. We were a small group (supposed to be eight, but ended up being ten) so it was easy to ask questions, and we saw not only many of Brisbane's historic buildings but also quirky sights such as the lamp posts adorned with local animals and kangaroo sculptures made from old tractor parts. Other staff at the visitor centre were also very helpful and we were given lots of ideas for things to do on the day when we couldn't take the tour. The building itself is a beautiful old theatre and worth spending a few minutes looking around in itself.

Thank SueJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghion, Manager at Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Our volunteers that take our daily walking tours are passionate Brisbane locals that love to show off our beautiful city to our visitors.

Brisbane is a very walkable city and there is no better way to see it than on foot.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Brisbane and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Brisbane Visitor Information and Booking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing