We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
95
102
29
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
102
29
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast quiet street small balcony plastic plates nice light breakfast clean and modern hotel few blocks walk hard boiled eggs with king size bed discover australia underground parking shower door included in the room rate tinned fruit would definitely stay here again seventh floor stayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Staying just one night, we were thrilled with this choice! Room,clean and quiet, easy walk to a park, a couple of restaurants and shops. The breakfast was fantastic, and we were easily and inexpensively able to extend our stay until our flight was due (very late) Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Beeker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argus A, Front Office Manager at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Beeker49,

Thank you for providing us with a great review! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and Darwin in your couple of days with us.
Thank you for acknowledging our dedicated team, It really acknowledges the effort we put in to look after our valued guest!

We hope you return to stay with us.

Thank you,

Cathy A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Modern and clean with comfy bed and good air con in spacious room
No microwave and no utensils and no plates for food. People will deliver but no room service. Difficult if staying for more than a few days.
But staff were helpful and courteous. Helped with tour and trip bookings and took the extra time to make sure we were confortable.
Once i rang hotel for information and there was no answer i hung up without leaving a message and they rang me back up anyway to see if everything was ok.
Lovely pool to swim in after a day in hot sticky darwin
Continental breakfast included very nice with good coffee

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argus A, Front Office Manager at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tracey M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Microwaves and utensils can be provided upon request, apologies that this was not advised to you.
Unfortunately we dont have a restaurant on site to be able to provide room service, but as you mentioned there are various places that do deliver direct to our hotel.

We are pleased to see that our dedicated team were very helpful to you, and that they did what they could to make your stay comfortable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to sunny Darwin!

All the best

Cathy A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Argus Hotel for a week, and were very pleased with our choice. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The location was great. Lots of restaurants and bars in nearby Mitchell street. The pool is small and more of a plunge pool. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank trinette2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argus A, Front Office Manager at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Trinette2015,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our rooms pleasant.
Also very happy to see that you found our dedicated team friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to sunny Darwin.

Thank you,

- CathyA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We booked the hotel having found an offer online and now I’ve been I can say I’d happily return even if I didn’t have such a good offer. We phoned and enquired about rooms with baths and were told if we requested one we’d have one which we did. The lady at reception was so kind and sweet and made check in very easy, she also gave us some tips on things to do in the area which resulted in us having the best evening. The room was to a very high standard and our small balcony area looked over to the sea which was gorgeous. The aircon worked perfectly and the bed was so incredibly comfortable. The continental breakfast (included for all guests I believe) was better than others I’ve had. Everything seemed fresh and was constantly being monitored and checked on. There was a good variety to choose from also. The hotel doesn’t offer other food services or dining and this is something that would have been nice to see.
Check out was easy and the same lovely receptionist was responsible for that.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Embo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argus A, Front Office Manager at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Embo93,

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that there was one team member in particular that made your stay all the more enjoyable.

Yes, our light continental breakfast service is complimentary for all guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the selection that was offered.
Unfortunately we do not offer lunch or dinner at our hotel, but there are various restaurants close by, and a few that do delivery direct to the hotel.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best

Cathy A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

A great hotel, clean and modern on the outskirts of the CBD. Rooms serviced daily but not a full service. Continental breakfast only, no restaurant or bar.
Tiny balcony, small pool/spa.
Could have been classed a serviced apartments but no kitchen facilities?
The bathroom was clean but had a shower in the bath which was a high step but believe that some rooms had showers only.
The hotel was too far from restaurants and bars for us to walk so we had to take taxis, but the charges weren't too bad. A 5 minute taxi ride to Mitchell St restaurants and bars, a little longer to those on the wharf.

Room Tip: pick something closer to town if you are staying for more than a few days.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 308duncanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argus A, Front Office Manager at Argus Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 308duncanr,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

With relation to your points noted - all our rooms are provided with a light service on a daily basis. A full service is subject to your length of stay.
Our hotel rooms have only the kitchenettes, our apartments located on Cardona Court in the CBD have full sized kitchens. Unfortunately we believe that there may have been some confusion with our two properties.
Yes, some rooms dont have baths, and are shower only. We are always happy to make changes to bookings should a request come through.
There are some restaurants located only minutes away from our hotel by foot, apologies if these were not pointed to you.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you,

Cathy A




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews