We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
491
782
379
111
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
782
379
111
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree resident peacock hanuman restaurant deck bar golf course asian restaurant mountain view pool area room service a bit tired business trip comfortable hotel guest laundry mcdonnell ranges buffet breakfast staff were helpful town centre
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now the first thing I'd like to point out to everyone is that whilst this property is older as far as properties go, do NOT let it detract from the service or the comfort of the actual hotel.
Check in was seamless and friendly all boxes ticked and as usual those damn cookies are amazing!
Our room was a second floor standard room and it was beautiful. More importantly it was QUIET! Great water pressure in the shower, fabulous mattress comfort. All in all just a great room.
All reception staff were enthusiastic, attentive, sincere and downright bloody cheerful, and gave the impression that they were happy to be there.

Now Doubletree has its own restaurant plus an indo-asian restaurant called Hanuman and a side bar. We didn't get to try Saltbush as we did not have enough time, but we had some fantastic cocktails and wines at the side bar and dinner at Hanuman was brilliant, all their curries are textbook perfect and you can vary the spice level(nice!). However I highly, HIGHLY reccomend the oysters and the black sticky rice creme brulee (I weigh ten pounds more but my soul is eternally happy).

Doubletree Hilton Breakfast is absolutley magnificent. In consuming it (I tried everything of course) I found quality ingredients, attention to detail, they regularly refresh the buffet (and I mean regularly) and the staff are warm, kind and non intrusive to us freshly awakened travellers seeking caffiene before evolving into our daily human form. And the Breakfast Egg Chef (I think his name is Justin?) is legendary. Eggs any way you want and quick as lightning and he makes it look easy.

I recently discovered that a New Executive Chef had joined Doubletree and had arrived a month prior to our stay, from what I could learn from the floor staff, he has apparently brought his personality of fun, humour and infectious energy combined with a hard work ethic into his new digs, and from what we experienced at dinner and breakfast, it seems he's doing well.

I think Doubltree is a great place to be if you are a road warrior looking for a nice stopover whilst commuting the length of Australia or if you are on holiday/business in Alice springs and desire a 'home away from home'.

Keep up the great work all.

Room tip: stay on the 2nd or third floor either end doesn't matter
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ryan P,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an incredible review of your stay with us. Its experiences like this that make working in the hospitality industry truly satisfying. I'm extremely glad that you had a wonderful stay, thanks for your comments and I've duly shared with the entire team.

Should you be returning to Alice Springs in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Check in was efficient with the usual Hilton complimentary cookie.

The hotel is low rise on the outskirts of Alice Springs, and backs onto the golf course. There is a huge foyer area, a bar and two restaurants at the front of the hotel.

The rooms are spread over wings and some can be a fair distance from reception, to be fair there are several lifts which appear to be very speedy and we never had to wait more than a few seconds for the lift.

The room we had (269) was large and well equipped, it had everything you would expect, safe, kettle, iron and ironing board etc. The fittings did appear to be a reasonable quality, and the room was clean, however the paint which is peeling off one of the walls does not give the impression of a well maintained establishment. This was a a major eye sore in the room, which was knocked and scuffed in a number of places.

The bathroom had an over the bath shower head in a fixed position, anyone over 170cm would not be able to shower under the shower head, though it did deliver a constant hot water at a good pressure. There was a goodly number of quality white towels.

The TV had the standard ‘hard to figure out’ Hilton type control box which all their hotels seem to have, however the wall mounted TV had a good range of channels delivering an excellent picture quality. The wifi was steady and running about 10mbps but the Hilton policy on wifi leaves much to be desired.

The bed was king sized and was very comfortable, the bedding was of good quality.

The bar served a range of drinks and the price was reasonable, $9 AUS for a full pint, though the place did close about 9:30pm.

In spite of a large dining room, the hotel found it difficult to cater for all the guests wanting breakfast at the popular times. The range available was very good with everything you could possibly wish for breakfast. There was an egg chef dealing with requests for omelettes etc.

All the staff were friendly and efficien

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1Englishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 1 Englishman,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs.

We appreciate your comments and we're glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel - thanks for your review.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to DoubleTree on a future occasion.

Kind regards Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

The rooms are lovely, fresh and clean. Mini bar is below average and room service food too. Hotel room service should not claim dishes as a foreign dish if they are not. I had Larb Gai, Thailand for warm chicken salad. Being warm and chicken was the only factual parts of the dish. Sweet chilli sauce is not correct nor is limp lettuce and no coriander. Should have been called warm minced chicken.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Muskett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Muskett12,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs.

I appreciate your comments and have passed onto the team for review. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion

Kind regards Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Comfortable rooms, great dining and bar facilities, big family friendly pool. The location is excellent, far enough away from the centre of town but just down the road from conference facilities and the casino. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Plenty of parking.

Room tip: Keep the windows closed while your out in the evening, there can be smoke from local camps.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davo_Rawlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Davo_Rawlo,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs.

We appreciate your comments and we're glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel - thanks for your review.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to DoubleTree on a future occasion.

Kind regards Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed there one night while in the NT. Rooms are comfortable although the beds were a bit soft and didn’t really fit 2 people. The swimming pool is big enough. Internet access is quite quick as well.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ludo-Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Ludo-Owen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience.

We certainly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews