We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Botanic Garden Sydney
Save
  
Ways to Experience Royal Botanic Garden Sydney
from US$36.02
More Info
from US$44.82
More Info
from US$39.20
More Info
from US$78.64
More Info
Reviews (9,739)
Filter reviews
9,739 results
Traveller rating
6,948
2,435
297
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,948
2,435
297
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house rose garden trees and plants fruit bats gardens are beautiful government house bird life busy city macquarie's chair the heart of the city few hours lovely walk art gallery couple of hours sunny day walk around harbour bridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 9,739 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Didn’t quite realise how big this park was going to be.you can start nearby to the opera house and then start walking. Shame there is no minature train or bus service to get around. At least, I didn’t see one.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Divatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

Two issues both pertaining to access.

On April 1st, I attended the Handa opera production of La Traviata at Fleet Steps, part of the RBG Sydney green space. We walked from our accommodation at the Rocks through the Botanic Gardens to the opera. However, instead of being able to enjoy and explore the gardens en route, we had to rush through because the gardens locked gates at 6pm! Furthermore, there was no way of walking back along a beautiful walk along the same way after the opera ended, instead requiring a long detour through the city. Physically handicapped friends who are in motorised wheelchairs who could appreciate the travel through the Botanic Gardens are forced to negotiate the long walk up and down hills or to take a taxi.
Can there not be access provided on nights of the opera?

To further add insult to injury, on April 2nd, Good Friday, I decided to walk back to see the Botanic Gardens as I was flying out that afternoon. The gates remained locked until 10am.

I am disappointed by the conduct of whoever is in charge of gates.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

Very well maintained, but not over-manicured, beautiful gardens with many native birds and wildlife.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank saschabhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Just across from our hotel we had a nice walk around with good views over the harbour. Enjoyed the vast variety of Australian native plants, many we never see in Queensland. Had a nice lunch outdoors at the cafe.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank betopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021

What a wonderful garden experience right on our doorstep with magnificent 180 degree views of Sydney Harbour. Visited several times and the gardens are so well maintained. Particularly love the succulent garden and the wildflowers - such a nice surprise.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews