We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Bon Vin Restaurant

Bon Vin Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 20/04
20:00
Ranked #94 of 6,364 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Bon Vin (pronounced Bon Vaah) meaning 'Fine Wine' seeks to provide outstanding French-inspired food and wine in a warm intimate unique space. Don't wait anymore to discover this hidden gem. Chef Lisa and her team are glad to make you discover their innovative and seasonal menu. The experience wouldn't be complete without a glass of one of our delightful french wines, all reasonably priced. Our space is also perfect for your small function (max 30 seated and 50 standing). Don't hesitate to contact us.
Reviewed 23 February 2021

This restaurant is a great find. The food was lovely, the service excellent and the variety of wine, equally good. I had the scallops, and Beef fillet which were both very nice. I'd recommend Bon Vin and have done so to a number of friends already.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frenchbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2021

I came with my partner and nephew for my 60th birthday on Valentine's Day. I can't give you a full run down on how fantastic the seven course special set menu was, or this review will never finish! Highlights - the duck ravioli with truffle butter, the deboned quail, charred leek and rasberry salad, and the slow roasted beef fillet with Paris mash were absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and all courses beautifully paired with matching wines. The service from all the waitstaff was relaxed and efficient, and we even enjoyed a chat with the chefs during the meal. Can't recommend Bon Vin highly enough for the food, the ambience and the service, it's an absolute delight and we look forward to going back to try the a la carte menu. Do yourself a favour - just go!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBonVin, Owner at Bon Vin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

What a kind and generous review! Makes it all worthwhile. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

We attended in a group of 4 and the food and wine were very nice. I just didn't find it very french with gnocchi and ravioli on the limited menu. More Italian than French.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank timmO428JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBonVin, Owner at Bon Vin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Thank you for your review. We felt we should explain a few of the dishes you might be referring too. Just to confirm the ravioli is a parcel of confit duck (French) with a Truffle Beurre Fondue sauce (French). If you did taste our Gnocchi Parisienne you will note it is made with pâte à choux—the same dough used for profiteroles, cream puffs and éclairs, a completely French dish and quite different in its technique from the Italian version. Please find a link to our current menu, which we would suggest is very 'French'.

https://ce0b5f2e-db94-4907-91a7-9ac54b4c2763.filesusr.com/ugd/c49757_f8154a1577a24b64b6fc75ec3443b14f.pdf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

This was a last minute whim booking for Valentines Day and my husbands birthday, the food was incredible and the service topped that! The duck ravioli and seafood salad are the stand out dishes!

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank tessc015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

We have been going to Bon Vin regularly for the last 2 years. This is our best kept secret in Darlinghurst! Not many people know about this beautiful venue; as you enter the restaurant you are immersed in an intimate francophone atmosphere. The restaurant name suggests 'good wine' but just wait til you try the wine list! The wine is very reasonably priced and we have loved almost every bottle on the wine list. Now comes the food, Chef Lisa is a modest and unassuming chef whose culinary talent speak for itself. The food is authentic and so beautifully presented on the plate that it feeds both your eyes and your stomach. She regularly updates her menu so you can guarantee that it is always seasonal and fresh. If you enjoy quality french food and wine at a reasonable price, be sure to give this place a try!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 335jeffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bon Vin Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bon Vin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.