We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a Short Stay”
Review of Abode Hotel Woden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abode Hotel Woden
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Family Friendly, easy to find and close to a Westfields. Pantry was a great idea, and Smoque restaurant was handy. Rooms clean and tidy. Serviced each day. Only down side was their is no hotel parking. Plenty of parking opposite the hotel but you need to pay and keep it topped up.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank serialgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2015

Booked into the Abode for 2 nights, business trip. Good points: Rooms are set out well, large bed and plenty of hot water with big deluge shower head.
Improvements: No opening windows and aircon would not turn off.
Ventilation insufficient in the bathroom (and no exhaust fan)
Alarm sounding pipes i.e. when someone uses the water from floors above it squeals in the pipes and sounds like a faint fire alarm...bizarre.
Housekeeping failed to pickup towels and clear bins (although they did make the bed...which the write up says they wouldn't?)
In fact even after returning to make up the room; housekeeping still failed to pick up a flannel on the shower floor.
No phone in room... Issue when you need to ring front desk to advise of something (like housekeeping) what about emergency?
Painting taking place on the floor. Now I would normally say that is a major problem except the room door was being painted when returned to the room (about 3:15) and continued till after 5pm. Would have been nice to know painting was taking place on the day we were checked in.
No parking...be prepared to scrape the ice off your car window which has to be parked a minimum of 100 metres from the Abode entrance (ACT Parking regulations).
No opportunity to charge back restaurant. Although The Smoque provided good American style breakfast at reasonable prices (if that is your thing).
Generally really noisy with both outside and doors slamming along the corridor...
Finally the bed...do you like sleeping on a board...now I'm used to Pillow Top mattresses and probably a bit soft but I woke every time I rolled...not comfortable.
It is near the Bus interchange and hence Westfield shops so very convenient from that point of view.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryEscardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days. Would have moved out if we hadn't prepaid non refundable. Most annoyingly Abode has no car park. This is not evident from the website. We were in Canberra so my husband could visit Canberra hospital daily for treatment. I made that clear when I booked in person. I should have been told the public car park was across the road & metered from 8.30 to 5.30. The room itself is badly designed. Although there is a kitchenette, there is only a low coffee table & one chair, so nowhere comfortable to eat, or read or watch TV. Because of the design of the shower the bathroom floor floods. There is no phone to contact reception. There is no room service. There are much better hotels in Canberra.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FCW503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

i had a very pleasant overnight stay here. Staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. I was given coffee mugs, socks and hot chocolate on arrival. Apartment was lovely and large enough for me to move into. Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant downstairs has an interesting and varied menu.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We booked into the Abode at the last minute and were exceptionally happy with what we received. Check in was super fast and the room was amazing. Everything looked new. The room was super clean, comfy and had it's own kitchen/dishwasher and washer/dryer. Complete with free wifi but no carparking, although there is a pay carpark across the road which becomes free at 5:30pm. Good location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Woden
Quality Hotel Woden
#39 of 60 in Canberra
235 reviews
5.7 km away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
8.5 km away
Alpha Hotel Canberra
Alpha Hotel Canberra
#1 of 1 in Tuggeranong
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#15 of 60 in Canberra
686 reviews
11.3 km away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#25 of 60 in Canberra
368 reviews
6.1 km away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 60 in Canberra
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Hotel Woden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Hotel Woden

Address: 10 Bowes Street, Canberra 2606, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $821 - $1,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Hotel Woden 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Woden is located in the heart of the nation’s capital and is the perfect accommodation choice for both the business traveller and the leisure guest. Abode Woden is located in the geographical centre of Canberra, just minutes from the Parliamentary Triangle and only a short drive from the Canberra CBD. Offering 151 apartment-style rooms, Abode Woden is both affordable and stylish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Hotel Woden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing