We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious friendly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Two day work trip straight after returning from China. Big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and clean and tidy. This hotel has great facilities including a guest laundry which is a nice touch. Only negative is the aircon control is older and gives very little options for changing temperature. But overall I will be back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear NZL_Carl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. After a long flight from China, I am pleased that you enjoyed the spacious rooms offered at the hotel and that the Rydges Dream bed was enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Canberra.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Out of the blue picked the Rydges Capital Hill, couldn't have been a better spur of the moment pick. Close to many restaurants and also close to many tourist spots as well for those holidaying.
Rooms were clean and well appointed, free Wifi but a bit hit and miss once everyone else is using Wifi too!
Downstairs bar is modern, a bit $$$ for some beers but happy hour for $5 is good. Breakfast included in my stay was OK and plenty on the menu for picky eaters.
All in all well worth it, would stay again.
Car parking is not complimentary, cost me $20/night which is a bit rich and only has room for vehicle 1.98M in height, 4x4's might find it squeezy!

Room Tip: Most rooms would have a reasonable view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and by the sounds of it you had time to explore the local area and all that it has to offer.

It was nice to read that you visited the bar to take advantage of the happy hour drinks and that you enjoyed the breakfast spread.

I was a little surprised regarding your comment for the car park charge is this only $12.00 per car overnight not $20.00 if you have chosen a package that does not include car parking.

For future visits to the hotel, should you not wish to pay for parking, we offer complimentary car parking spaces at the front of the hotel, these are subject to availability and there is also street parking available at the rear of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We had a 3 day holiday in Canberra over the christmas break and booked 3 rooms. This place is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
My only concern was parking. Not designed for large vehicles and due to the many christmas functions at the on site restaurant it was difficult to get onsite parking

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevemarie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Stevemarie 2017,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us during the festive season. It is a great time to visit Canberra and explore all that the city has to offer.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the car park availability. When the hotel is busy with functions and higher occupancy, the car park does tend to get busier and all spaces are subject to availability.

The hotel does offer complimentary car parks at the front of the hotel and there is also street parking at the rear of the hotel for those guests that have vehicles that are too high to fit in the hotels undercover car park. For larger cars, we have spots that are a little wider at the rear of the car park.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Canberra and the hotel again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed here towards the end of December and unfortunately the Aircon run into some technical difficulties for 2 of the 4 nights that we stayed, both of these days were 30 plus degrees so you can imagine it was quite hot in the hotel. In saying that, I can not speak highly enough of the Management on during this time Georgia was absolutely Fantastic, she went out of her way to make sure not just us but ALL of the hotel guests were comfortable during the 2 days with no aircon her dedication to the guests was truely amazing she definitely is an asset to Rydges.

The hotel rooms are very spacious and the newly refurbished bathrooms are great, you are walking distance to some great eateries and the Kingston foreshore.

Overall it's a great hotel and we will be back, I will be recommending it to all my family and friends.. AA++

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Isabell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Issabell G,

Thank you for your very positive review from your recent stay. It was a shame that our air-conditioning chiller decided to cease working on the days that you were with us.

This was a challenging time for our staff, as this issue was something that we could not foresee and was out of our control.

As I am sure that you can appreciate, to get a replacement chiller and the trades people to install it during the Christmas holiday period was difficult but it was achieved with minimal disruption to our guests.

Thank you very much for recognising the efforts from our staff and in particular, Georgina.

Your positive feedback creates ambassadors that are an asset to the Rydges Brand.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Stayed overnight recently. Good room. They gave me a good rate as a Rewards member. Always a good option to stay here as it is easy to get to the Oress Club, Kingston or Manuka. Car park arrangement works well.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank David255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear David255057,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are lucky to have our property situated in a convenient location, only a short walk to the quaint village of Manuka and close to Kingston and all that the wonderful foreshore has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
4.5 km away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
3.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.9 km away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 60 in Canberra
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#28 of 60 in Canberra
3,390 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 60 in Canberra
3,207 reviews
6.1 km away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 60 in Canberra
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $829 - $1,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing