We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, comfortable room”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas 2017. The hotel is easy to find being on one of the main corridors into the centre of Canberra. Parking was fine with very helpful valet parking attendants. Reception was fairly quick and simple and we found the lifts to our room great - we barely had to wait 20 seconds to get a lift throughout our stay. Our room was very comfortable, with all the usual facilities including a sofa and good sized TV - bed was quite comfortable. We had dinner one night and breakfast all 3 days - restaurant ws quite good and staff attentive. The only hiccup we had during our stay was an alarm went off in the middle of the night and we had to evacuate our room briefly until the emergency alarm was averted and we could return to our rooms. It was handled reasonably well by staff. Did not turn us off the facility. We'll likely return on our next visit to Canberra. Very handy to restaurants, shopping and a short drive to all Canberra's attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Canberra.
It is pleasing to read your comments relating to the standard of service you received throughout your stay. I will ensure that our staff hears of your comments.
I apologise for the fire alarm being activated during your stay and disturbing your rest. The Novotel Canbrra does take the safety of our staff and guests very seriously. .
Novotel Canberra’ most definitely occupies a prime location. Its close proximity to many attractions and venues is a popular aspect among many of our guests, and I am glad to read that you too enjoyed this.
Thank you again for both your time and your comments. I hope that you will chose to return to the Novotel Canberra in the near future, and allow us the chance to truly surpass your expectations then.
Kind regards
Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay! Clean rooms, great pool for the kids to swim in and fantastic valet parking staff. Special shout out to Jay from room service who was an absolute gem! The only reason I have not rated 5 stars is because the sofa bed for the kids wasn’t the most comfortable, however they still slept soundly on it and the pressure of water in the shower wasn’t the best. However I would still highly recommend staying here and Breakfast and dinner was also delicious.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank MelR237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Canberra.
It is pleasing to read your comments relating to the standard of service you received throughout your stay. I will ensure that Jay hears of your comments.
I will be making note of your comments concerning the sofa bed and the shower preasure.

Thank you again for both your time and your comments. I hope that you will chose to return to the Novotel Canberra in the near future, and allow us the chance to truly surpass your expectations then.

Kind regards

Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night with my family Room is spacious and comfortable. Nice hot shower. Walking distance to shops, centre and fireworks.
The pool is OK , but access to outdoor area was locked. The carpet needs TLC , a bit old .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank RCG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Canberra. Having gone through your comments, I apologise for the limited access to the out door area.

At the same time, we are glad to understand that you found our location, rooms and showers to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for business. Parking is $20 per night and the valet parking staff are great.
Room very large and bed was okay, the phone for some reason kept making this ticking noise so I ended up unplugging it. Gym was small and overheated so I didn’t bother and went to the nearby gym at Canberra Centre. As an Accor gold member I am entitled to free internet - they even said this on my welcome card on check in but upon check out they tried to charge me. Didn’t end up charging in the end but was a hassle to argue. Wifi wasn’t 100% all the time. Great location right in the city centre. I did receive a free large bottle of water and 2 bowls of fruit as a welcome though

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AhBea,

We appreciate your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Canberra. Having gone through your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the misunderstanding in regards to your benefit entitlements as a very important loyalty member.

We thank you once again for your review and we look forward to serving you again in future.

Kind regards,
Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Hotel in a favorable position, only a few minutes walk to Canberra Shopping area, the room was clean and well maintained, parking was good and reasonably priced, the reception area was clean and appealing, we booked in with a minimum of fuss, very good check in process. A very good hotel to stay at

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan D, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Canberra. Having gone through your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that the hotel's location is fantastic and glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you once again for your review and we look forward to serving you again in future.

Kind regards,
Adriaan Du Plessis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.4 km away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 60 in Canberra
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#25 of 60 in Canberra
1,835 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 60 in Canberra
1,751 reviews
0.8 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 60 in Canberra
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#26 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: HK$941 - HK$2,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing