We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,963)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveller rating
506
907
390
111
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
907
390
111
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room war memorial courtyard restaurant old world charm city centre bottle shop open fire an upgrade reception area plenty of parking the ground floor buffet breakfast reception staff king bed free parking parliament house olims
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Mercure was I believe Olim's and has been around forever.

Unfortunately it is difficult to make old buildings fit a modern layout and work as expected. Our room whilst is was comfortable enough the layout was a little odd.

Our room was quiet and close to reception and parking in front of the hotel, but quite a hike to the main parking area at the rear. We had a pleasant view over the courtyard.

The breakfast buffet was the standard fare and was better than expected and reasonably priced.

Staff were pleasant and the location ok. About 10 minutes walk to some nice restaurants and shops.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank desktop_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3rd world standards in a first world country.The bar area was dirty outside areas not cleaned in days.The dog friendly room was not.the grass was dead and balcony was filthy dirty.The inside grass area is nice but the out edges where balconys are dead and dirty.Lift your game.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Trek39938684378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatinaFarnham, General Manager at mecure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Trek39938684378,

thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed. I have shared your feedback with the senior team and we have made changes to our processes to ensure that all area's of the hotel are continually maintained and kept at a high cleanliness standard.

I do appreciate you bringing these points to my attention, and do hope that you have a chance to return and see the changes that we have made.

Sincerely,
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we were attending a Last Post Ceremony at the Australian War Memorial this Hotel was in an ideal position just a short walk to AWM.
We particularly liked the fact that it is not a high rise hotel so no waiting for lifts!! The courtyard & gardens were lovely & parking was plentiful & close to the entrance.
Our room was large & well supplied with everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
The staff were exceptionally good. They were friendly & helpful.
We were disappointed with breakfast & dinner, however, & felt that this let the hotel down. At breakfast things were so often empty & it was a chore to get food/coffee/utensils replenished. Not much choice at dinner & quality of food did not impress us, particularly at the prices charged we expected better.
Overall we would recommend the hotel, just not the food.

Room tip: Our ground floor room had a private courtyard & sitting area.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My stay was from 9th to 13th November and this is my 2nd stay at Mercure Canberra, I had a nice quite room, and a comfortable bed, handy to the AWM, and would recommend to anyone to try it.
I used the gym, which is a basic one with, treadmill, rowing machine, and 2 different types of exercise bikes and some weights.
Remember this motel is listed on the ACT Heritage Register and there are no lifts and they have refurbished to a good standard.
Cheers Ken

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kenb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Whilst this is an older hotel, the rooms are very well appointed and spacious. The location is very convenient and the staff are excellent. For business travellers, this is definitely one of the better hotels in Canberra.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank panhellenism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews