We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening with lovely wine and food”
Review of Rizla

Rizla
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 19/05
20:00
Ranked #298 of 1,515 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Description: A wine bar and restaurant in the heart of Braddon with a focus on Riesling and great share plates to match.
Restaurant details
Description: A wine bar and restaurant in the heart of Braddon with a focus on Riesling and great share plates to match.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

We booked a second sitting (8;30pm) and tried the 'sort it out' option of $60pp. The venue itself is small and quirky with 90% of seating outside. But, it is quite comfortable - as long as they don't let the gas heater go out, which it did. (Not sure why they don't have more sustainable type of heating off the wall).
Anyway, the food was very good, and while we easily got our money's worth and it was tasty and innovative, we would of easily paid an extra $10 -15 ea more for just a tad more food. The $60pp menu was three small entrees (two were more like hors d'oeuvres), one main (a piece of fish) with two veg sides, and two desserts. Now, this may sound a lot, but each dish is to be shared and the biggest problem was with the main: one small piece of fish between two doesn't quite cut it. As we said, we think most people wouldn't mind paying a little more for a second main - and even less dessert, which were really delicious, but huge!
The wine offering is very comprehensive, and is made easy with very generous and knowledgable staff. It was a pleasant evening and we'll def return to try al a cart, and see how it fairs in Canberra's winter.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank theLostGeneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Just discovered this place - and it is amazing! I’ve never thought that Riesling could soooo tasty! And the range of food for wine testing is wonderful - exactly what you want to treat yourself :)

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank noosed_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

Excellent wine bar great atmosphere .
Will definitely be back guys. Thanks for the great service and atmosphere

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank D1257WQsallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Some friends and I had dinner at Rizla yesterday evening and it was fantastic. Great food, even better wine! Andy and the rest of the team were great in creating a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. The outdoor seating wasn’t a problem on a cool night with plenty of heaters keeping the space warm, and knee rugs available if required. Thanks to the Rizla team for facilitating a great night out with friends.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank LisaK539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020

We were visiting Canberra for a weekend to see our Daughter - and went here for Dinner - what a great choice. The booking was easy, and the team called to confirm. An earlier option did come up and the team called to give us that option. We sat outside under a lovely heater - as it was a chilly night but didn't notice it. So friendly service and they are so passionate about their Food and Wine selection. Long list of options of local wines. We tried a few ! Good Menu which was too the point, not too long of options ! Food was delicious. A fun evening.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 973charlesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rizla also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Rizla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.