We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alan W
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

Delightful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jul 2018via mobile
A one night stay after having toured the Cather region and before driving to Spain. A delightful hotel, quite simple but comfortable and very well appointed with pool and attractive gardens. The proprietress couldn’t be more helpful.
No evening meal but there are a number of restaurants nearby which the hotel will book.
Thoroughly recommended!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.9 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Terrasse devant l'Ariège
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.5 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
3.9 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free parking
Abbaye Château
Contact accommodation for availability.
16.6 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscine naturelle lagon (500m²)
Contact accommodation for availability.
16.5 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.7 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
La habitación
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.9 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.3 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
8.8 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
10.8 km from Hotel le Castrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Villeneuve-d'Olmes
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
48
15
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
15
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Everything works here, in part because of the wonderful pool (which could open earlier), the sense of pride on the owner's part (everything is done by the owner), the great setting rich with history, AND the traditional breakfast (perfect). Every need attended to with happy alacrity. Air conditioned, very comfortable, would return gladly.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is a nicely designed hotel in a beautiful setting. Located a little off the road, you drive past a corn field on one side and a lawn on the other. In back of the hotel there is a pool set in a huge lawn of grass bordered by the woods. There is a gazebo with a view of the mountains. The rooms are spacious and well designed, ours had a little patio out the glass door with chairs and a table. It is so quiet. The eating area is large and well designed, breakfast at 10 Euros is decent to slightly better than average.

It is in a great location for Cathar Country, 30 minutes to Foix, a pretty town with great castle, 30 minutes to the charming medieval town of Mirepoix, 30 minutes to the castle at Puivert, 15 minutes to the dramatic and historic Montsegur Castle and picturesque town of Montsegur, and 15 minutes to the equally dramatic Roquefixade Castle. Lavelanet is not historic, but is only 5 minutes drive away with several good boulangeries, restaurants, a good market, and several supermarkets. When we first arrived we thought that we would be bored, but 3 nights and 3 days was barely enough to see most of the sights without returning to any place twice. The owners, who designed the hotel are friendly and helpful. Rooms cost a little more than 100
Euros, but I considered the money well spent. The only downside was that wifi was intermittent in one of the rooms.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabachoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The hotel deserves its high ratings. We were really pleased we booked here. Spaces are beautiful and well-maintained, owner speaks good English and is extremely attentive, lending us an extra umbrella for a rainy day, even! Rooms look better than the pictures, bright and sunny, everything was spotlessly clean, ground floor rooms have patios with table and chairs. We found this location to be ideal for exploring castles in Foix, Mont Segur, Roquefixade and Puivert during the day.

We stayed here 3 nights in two rooms on the ground floor and would have happily stayed a week. One has a handicap bathroom with shower chair, the other has a great soaking tub (rare). No stairs was perfect for my mom who uses a cane.

The surrounding area is lively and interesting and there's much more than we thought in under an hour's drive. At least in the summer, we were pleased to find there are markets, free concerts, occitan singing almost every day. (Mirepoix is another charming town (albeit without a castle)). As we travelled further east, we realized how special this area and the village in it are -- nearly all of the villages are cute and historic.

Breakfast was solid with meat and cheese options, but for 10 Euro, and in france, hard to resist getting your own at a boulangerie ;)

Wifi reliable in one room, a bit less so in the room further from the front desk.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ariel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We was a group of 7 bikers from Paris to Barcelona. Stayed at this hotel for one night. Excellent service and with a smile, top class food. A dazzling view, from the windows a magnificent view to the pyrenees. So close to the mountains and Spain, a perfect stay.The room, toilet, shower all in fine order . You really felt that this small family hotel, was taking care of their customers.
I will certainly return with my wife. .

Room tip: A small hotel so you have to book as fast as possible
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Normann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We stayed here to see Montsegur as it is perfectly located to the site. This is a beautiful bed and breakfast. The room was huge and there was a fantastic view of the mountains from our window which I recommend getting a glimpse of in the morning light. The bathroom was luxurious, spacious, well maintained and modern. It even came with robes and slippers. The bed was large and comfortable and the WiFi was good. Parking is out the front and while there are no lifts the staff helped us with our luggage up the one flight of stairs. Overall the staff were great, they were warm, helpful and gave us great advice. The breakfast offered was nice too. It was a continental breakfast, with some of the freshest bread I've ever had and homemade jams that were delicious. The place is a little pricey but I think it is worth it as the experience of staying here was just so enjoyable.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews