We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy modern luxury hotel....highly recommended....”
Review of Jackalope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jackalope Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merricks North
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We booked a two-night package last minute after seeing a good weather forecast. We were looking for some pool time before heading back to the European winter. Package included dinner with wines in the main restaurant, lunch next door, room upgrade, late checkout etc... Great experience as we were able to check-out at 18:00 just in time to meet our international flight departing MEL. Honestly we were expecting some hiccups with service as this is a newer hotel but there were very few. I called ahead to confirm a room upgrade was available before booking and they were very accommodating. Check-in was easy. Room was as expected. My only gripe is that one is a bit exposed when using the toilet due to the frosted glass wall separating you from the rest of the room. Restaurants were both very good—we preferred the food in The Red Hare (lunch—amazing) as it was less formal with more vegetarian dishes on offer—too many tasting menus elsewhere during the trip. Breakfast was good although the selection and portion sizes could be improved plus waitstaff only seemed interested in assigned tables which I found frustrating for coffee refills/additional requests. Breakfast is a la carte so I asked for more food and coffee and juice the second morning. My partner did not want to come down to eat each morning so they brought food to the room. The tasting menu at DootDootDoot doesn’t change nightly so the second evening we ate at Le Bouchon down the road—hotel staff suggested the restaurant and they provided drop-off and pick-up with a hotel car. Very good recommendation. Hotel has no gym but FOB is provided for guests to access a very good gym perhaps 3 km away. Pool area was great. However there were many corporate events in the bar area and more importantly at Red Hare while we were there—this meant a lot of people not staying at the hotel were in, overlooking or at least near the pool area. Maybe a fence is needed or a row of hedges to protect the privacy of hotel guests. Other hotel guests were mainly from Melbourne—many couples on short honeymoons. Hotel seems to be popular with Australian tv celebrities and professional sports players. Met a few but no one recognizable since we aren’t Australian. Bar was great—enjoyed the vodka martini with caviar. Really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended. We’ve traveled around Australia a lot and found the service levels in most places to be sorely lacking. Here that was not the case although there is room for improvement. Bar tenders were great but some of the staff at the front desk were a bit pretentious. Housekeeping was very good especially when a large glass bottle of water rolled out of the fridge and shattered on the floor in a million pieces. On departure I suggested hotel should be playing Xmas music at this time of year but one of the staff said it wasn’t really their “brand.” I read some of the negative reviews before booking and agree one should only book a vineyard view room. Other than that we really enjoyed the design and ambiance of the hotel—perhaps we are just part of the target demographic.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

This property has a pretty setting, however the architecture, interior design and formal restaurant (Doot Doot Doot) will leave you befuddled. Half the rooms face the parking lot (you are paying too much for this view). The interior design has one looking into the washroom which has translucent glass. It is likely to put a damper on a romantic evening. The restaurant is expensive and disappoints. The sister restaurant Red Hare is a good value. The more expensive wines at the cellar door are worth tasting.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank ssas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

What a dreary, cold, soulless place. We were there for a work event and they fawned over the boss as he’s loaded, but treated us as something on the bottom of their shoe. Rude, dismissive, have to ask four and five times for requests to be filled, uppity, cold.

I travel for a living and stay in hotels around the world. Never have I seen a hotel try so hard and fall so short. Absurd uncomfortable design in common areas. Rooms were dark, sparse and cold. No where to plug in phones. Odd shower setup.

Left my kindle there and could never even get a call back about it. Just couldn’t be bothered.

Design for designs sake (and I’m a designer!) but couldn’t wait to leave as there was nothing that said ‘here is your home away from home. Welcome.’

Can’t call it terrible (1 star) as the grounds are nice and the place is new so it is clean. But I would recommend everyone avoid. What a disappointment.

Go to the Rare Hare for a meal (lovely glimmering bright spot in a sea of dreariness) and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to leave Sydney to be in a quiet place with the Family for New Years...
This has been our BEST New Years Ever.
This Hotel Has it All,Tracey the manager since the day we arrive made us plans to visit around the mourning peninsula,this is a beautiful place to drink wine,eat & see amazing sunsets.
The hotel is decor it’s simply breathtaking,every single corner has a detail & the service is Top they make you feel at home.
Our room had a view to this amazing pool plus the vineyards at the back.
The Bar is the Coolest evercseen plus the Cocktails are delicious.
Don’t miss the breakfast,waffles with oreo & berries:))
Definitely a place to stay if you are planning to be around Melbourne.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

These guys and gals know customer service! They went out of their way to arrange transport, activities, dinners for us and always did it in a warm and attentive manner. The breakfast was one of the best parts - they have 5 star chefs and the food was magnificent!! The rooms were great too and we really appreciated how stocked the minibar and pantry were and loved that it was all included.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebeachsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merricks North
16.1 km away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
291 reviews
22.3 km away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
543 reviews
14.4 km away
Brooklands Of Mornington
Brooklands Of Mornington
#1 of 2 in Mornington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
31.3 km away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
325 reviews
24.6 km away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackalope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackalope Hotel

Address: 166 Balnarring Rd, Merricks North, Victoria 3926, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Merricks North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merricks North
Price Range: HK$3,395 - HK$5,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jackalope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackalope hotel's debut property sets a new standard in luxury accommodation on the Mornington Peninsula. Set on one of the region's most pristine vineyards, intoxicating acreage frames this landmark luxury hotel - unique in both destination and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jackalope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing