We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
US$332
View deal
Booking.com
US$400
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$300
View deal
ZenHotels.comUS$431
ExpediaUS$400
Hotels.comUS$400
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
694
38
21
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
694
38
21
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club kebab hard rock special thanks pool bar crab the crossroads overwater villa family suite live band f b manager pool villa rock star beach volleyball food and beverage manager water aerobics curry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Travelled over the Christmas and New Year period as a family of six with a mix of older and younger children. The resort setting is beautiful and transfer from the (busy) airport to resort quite seamless, the boat trip took about 30 minutes.

The hotel was reasonbly busy pre Christmas and got busier as the NY approached with a broad mix of nationalities. All rooms are extremely clean and well furnished. We had 2 rooms a duplex family suite and a sky studio, located directly on the beach, which fortunately was also located closest to the main pool and restaurants. We were on the Half Board package which given a more general laid back and low key evening entertainment vibe, worked best for us.

The staff as other reviews mention are great, there are large numbers of them and they all go out of their way to assist wherever they can. The ability to use both hotels is a real plus and offers a little more variety. The Saii Lagoon Hilton Curio is a more relaxed vibe than the traditional Hard Rock with its loud music and DJ's throughout the day and being able to split your time between the two and use the respective facilities and charge across the hotels and restuarants to the room is a good facility. Bikes are available free of charge as are buggies although they can be a bit hit and miss at busy times in the evening. I would like to think that if you stay in some of the over water villas which are quite a way away from the main resort facilities that you get priority when booking a buggy, but definately worth checking as going to breakfast etc is a bit of a walk and it can disrupt the day and meal reservations if you are waiting up to 30 mins for collection.

We used the Spa facility which was great, plenty of watersports are also on offer but they were a little expensive, I found.

There were two main gripes to our holiday which resulted in only a 4 star rating. Firstly the food, contrary to many other reviews we found it of a slightly lower standard than expected for a resort of this nature and cost. Service was generally quite slow but that is probably more to do with the nature of island life. We found at breakfast most of the supposed hot food was lukewarm at best and most of it, certainly the pastries and the like were frozen and de-frosted tasting very bland in the process. There were also a lot of buffet nights across the hotels, more than usual I'd guess becasue of the Xmas and New Year period, and whilst some guests may like this our preference is most definately to have the ability to use al a carte.

The principle of the Crossroads Marina is a great one with alternative restaurants and some other amenties, however seemingly they are still in Covid recovery mode and quite a lot of the retail/leisure space remains closed. We tried all of the restaurants, with the only exception being Carp Diem, the steak restaurant, that restaurant, the Japanese and the Ministry of Crab all come at a sur-charge. The steakhouse was virtually empty most nights which was a bit off-putting and thus had me questioning how fresh the food would be and on that basis we cancelled our reservation. Outside of that Mr Tomyam in the Saii Lagoon is a stange twist of Italian and Thai - quite odd and didnt work in my opinion. I think they would be well encouraged to just facilitate a traditional Italian restaurant to bring variety noting the origins of most of the other restaurants.

The other slight negative was that the Wifi was quite poor around the resort and particularly at Crossroads, I think this could possibly be a Maldives wide thing as you are effectively in the middle of the Ocean, nevertheless it would be good to see if this can be improved over time.

All in all a good trip, I'm not sure we would return to this resort, I'd perhaps try another in the Maldives, but certainly wouldn't put anybody else off.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 391mikey04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Office Manager, Other at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Dear 391mikey04,

Thank you for sharing the many positive highlights of your stay at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives such as the beautiful resort setting, seamless airport transfers, the appreciation you expressed for the rooms, your recognition for the spa facilities, snorkeling experience and of course our band (team) members. Your recognition means a lot and has been shared with the entire Band.

While we are naturally very pleased that you highlighted many positive experiences at the resort, we were disappointed to read that you also had experiences which did not meet with your expectations. We value your constructive feedback hence, we have noted all the points you have highlighted and all your recommendations.

At the outset, when it comes to culinary offerings, we would like to mention that Hard Rock Hotel Maldives is renowned for its high quality of food, variety and most importantly value for money - consistently always in line with our pricing. We're blessed by the accolades we received from most of our guests who stayed with us. We sincerely hope you would have mentioned this to us while you were still here so that we could have easily asked our Head Chef to prepare something to your liking. We have also taken good note of your comment regarding the speed of the internet. Our IT team on the other hand is continuously working to improve our WIFI connection on the island.

391mikey04, on behalf of the Band at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, thank you again for sharing your feedback and highlighting the many positive experiences as well as those that need improvement.

Sent from Backstage,
Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Excellent resort with a wonderful team of staff all of whom went that extra mile to ensure we had a holiday to remember!
Good balance of activity, relaxation and fun in a top class environment.
Can highly recommend to couple and families.
Thanks to all that made my 30th birthday trip one to remember- We will be back.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z2510KSsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Office Manager, Other at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Dear Z2510KSsarahs,

Firstly, please allow us to thank you for leaving a short but lovely review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Hard Rock Hotel Maldives.

We are extremely delighted to read that you enjoyed your 30th birthday celebration at our resort. Your happiness and satisfaction are our greatest reward at the end of the day, and we are beyond grateful for being appreciated.

On behalf of the Band at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, thank you for bestowing upon us the perfect “5 bubbles” rating on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to our little paradise for another celebration.

Sent from Backstage,
Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2022

We just got back from 5 nights at the Hard Rock Maldives and it is absolutely beautiful there. The water is crystal clear, incredibly calm, and very relaxing. The hotel could improve things for sure.

Getting off the plane, getting our bags, and the boat to the resort is was seamless.

We were taken to the Saii side and waited for those staying at the resort to be screened and checked in. They were given drinks and I found it to be of poor experience that we were not offered anything, even water, while waiting. We asked and we’re told “these are for those checking into Saii”. If this is the policy, then Saii guests should be dropped off and Hard Rock guests immediately taken to Hard Rock.

Check in was smooth once we go to hard rock. We were offered a drink then and we enjoyed having an employee come to us to check in instead of having to wait in a line.

We arrived very early, probably 9 AM and our rooms were
available immediately. The buffet breakfast every day is good, they change things around daily and you can get eggs made to order.

Everyone was very helpful in making lunch and dinner reservations and the food was overall very good.

We had an overwater villa with private pool and the one umbrella provided on the deck didn’t give a lot of shade. We asked for another umbrella and we’re told no more we’re a available but they did send someone to hang a tarp to provide addition shade. That was very nice. Since the pool is in direct sunlight at all times the water is very hot. During the day this was not much use to us, but it came in handy on the cooler nights. If traveling in the summer where nights don’t get cooler, I’m not sure the pool is worth the money.

Resisting buggy’s was usually pretty quick, at some busy times the wait was maybe 20 minutes but not really a concern there. The resort is at 80% capacity right now I believe so I guess it could take longer at 100%.

We had the all inclusive plan and as I mentioned the food was great. Lots of options, ease of scheduling, and great quality. Be prepared for service to take forever. Most sit down meals took around 3 hours because of this. There doesn’t seem to be much order into who does what and I think this adds confusion and time for the guests experience. Most dining is totally outdoors as well, if this isn’t something you like I’d definitely reconsider and this resort.

Our biggest complaint and disappointment was the availability and options to get drinks. Mini bar in room is not included in all inclusive, neither is room service. This isn’t mentioned at all when booking. We have this beautiful villa but absolutely no food or drink options once in the room. Even when even when venturing out into the resort drink options are limited to 1 pool bar or sitting at a restaurant. There is no beach drink service or the pool. You have to get everything yourself.

When we saw Hard Rock we definitely thought party time! This is definitely not the case. Absolutely everything
closes by 12 AM and most things at 10:30 PM. We noticed things closing even earlier than that despite their posted hours.

One night they were pushing a beach party in the Marina until 1 AM, and closed the pool bar (supposed to be open until 12 AM) at 10:30 PM. The party in the marina had no all inclusive drink options and there was absolutely no where to get any drinks at this time unless we went there to pay for them.

We finally decided to head over around 12 AM and we were turned away because they were packing up, my guess is due to lack of interest. We complained and were able to order room service for that night.

There was a beach party one night which was a lot of fun with live music. We also enjoyed the live band in the Hard Rock Cafe.

Housekeeping is only provided if asked (another thing they didn’t tell us up front!). The room was clean, but we often needed essentials like towels, toilet paper, ice which all took multiple requests to get. Once we raised
this to Carlton it did improve.

There is minimal hot water in the shower, lukewarm at best. We did also notice ants in our shower, no where else though!

The hotel did respond to our issues, but I think for a 5 star resort charging so much money, we expected more. I don’t think they should offer an all inclusive option because they really cannot deliver this with their current policies. I also was sad I had to argue about everything to get it fixed. That isn’t how I wanted to spend vacation.

COVID testing was very quick and simple. We also had a late flight and we’re granted late check out until 5 PM for both our rooms. We truly appreciated that.

The spa was great, we enjoyed our services there. We did the dolphin cruise and excursion and it was amazing. The provided snorkel equipment was great! The water sports options like jet skiing is incredibly overpriced for the time allotted. Don’t forget water shoes, there are rocky areas in the water!

We had a great time because we enjoyed the location of the Maldives. We did regret our decision of choosing Hard Rock and hope this review is helpful to others. We would not return to this resort, but would come back to the Maldives.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank Khorsey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Office Manager, Other at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2022

Dear Khorsey4,

First and foremost, thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and as always, we embrace each and every one with an openness to the opportunity to improve on our product and service.

Whilst we are pleased to read that you found Hard Rock Hotel Maldives absolutely beautiful and some aspects of your stay to be positive, such as the calmness and relaxing crystal clear water, seamless transfer to the resort, the variety and high quality of culinary offerings that you truly enjoyed and your spa, water sports and excursions experience, we are of course naturally disappointed to read that there were other elements that fell below your expectation, that made you thought of not coming returning to us. Nevertheless, please be assured that your constructive feedback has been shared with the band and action will be taken to ensure that all issues you had mentioned are addressed appropriately.

Khorsey4, on behalf of the Band at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, we very much hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you to our resort once again in order to make amends for your recent experience and of course, if you do decide to visit us again, then please do not hesitate to reach out to our office before your stay, so that we can ensure everything runs smoothly.

Sent from Backstage,
Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2022

I was expecting paradise and I wasn’t disappointed. My room was a gold beach villa and it was stunning inside, leading straight to a private sunbathing area onto the beach.
The views are breath taking.
Food is amazing, even with a picky eater, we have never had a bad meal.
Minimal walk to the marina and other restaurants over the walk way but plenty of buggys to offer a lift if you don’t want to walk in the heat.

Staff are all amazing and can’t do enough for you but massive shout out to Shuau for providing top service and keeping the drinks coming around the pool and beach area. He’s a credit to the hotel.

Also, just to mention Carlton. I know everybody already has, but I have never been on holiday where somebody has been so attentive and eager to ensure I was having the best time.

Just to note as well- there’s a mini mart and pharmacy in the marina area in case they are needed. The pharmacist is on hand to sort any minor ailments which is ideal when abroad.

Thank you Hard Rock- it’s been amazing!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Y9199ZVmariet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Office Manager, Other at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2022

Dear Marie T,

Thank you for the fabulous review of your 10-day stay with us. We are so pleased to know that we have met and exceeded your paradise expectations.

We aim to create a fun, friendly and exciting experience for all our guests and are happy we were able to give you the Hard Rock experience. Furthermore, we are glad you enjoyed your Gold Beach Villa and also, we were able to accommodate your food needs as we aim to provide high quality food and service to all our guests.

Thank you for highlighting Shuau and Carlton, who played such a wonderful role in ensuring you had a very special holiday. They are delighted they were able to positively impact your experience.

Marie T, on behalf of the Band at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, we are beyond happy that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you loved and listed all the little details that made your stay so memorable. We shall be overwhelmed to welcome you back to the iconic Hard Rock Hotel Maldives in the near future.

Sent from Backstage,
Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

We chose the hotel as we loved the choice of restaurants and, obviously because it’s paradise. We are not disappointed…
Food is amazing.
We’re in a gold beach villa and it’s stunning with a generous bathroom / dressing area and the room leads straight onto the beach
Service from the bar staff is amazing. Remembers your drink straight away and can’t do enough for you.
And just to mention, I know everybody already has, but special thanks to Carlton. He goes out of his way to ensure that you’re having the time of your life. Really goes above and beyond. Never seen another person make as much effort to make sure you’re happy, and I have travelled all over the world.
Thank you to all the staff.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank T7004XKdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Office Manager, Other at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2022

Dear David S,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review of your stay experience at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives.

We are so delighted that we have succeeded in providing you with an amazing paradise experience. Similarly, we are pleased to know that you were stunned with your Gold Beach Villa, offering more outdoor space and with the beach right on your doorstep. All our rooms are designed to keep in mind the guests comfort and relaxation and we are pleased you had the opportunity to experience that in your villa.

Food is one of our fortes here at the resort, thanks for highlighting the culinary component of your stay. Our Head Chef Ruben, along with his talented chefs will certainly delight you even further with their culinary creations on your next visit.
You are right, you are not alone in singing out highly about Carlton; he is truly a rockstar and we are proud to have him part of the Band. Carlton is grateful for your recognition and looks forward to creating more memorable experiences for you on your next visit.

David S, on behalf of the entire team here at Hard Rock Hotel Maldives, a sincere thank you and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your island playground in the not too distant future.

Sent from Backstage,
Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews