We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely first rate experience in every way. Although it was a bit of a wait (on a drizzly afternoon), it was worth every minute. Scallops were unbelievably plump and perfectly cooked, and we even got a bonus as, being towards the last before they ran out, we were asked if we’d mind, given that the scallops were on the small side, having our dishes made up with a bit of lobster. Which we did not! But very typical of the smily, friendly, ultra-efficient service that they took the trouble to ask us. We also (greedily and in truth unnecessarily as the scallops/ lobster were so generously portioned) ordered squid which was excellent too, and enabled us to taste their chips which were fluffy and very fine. The quality of both food/cooking and service/welcome were outstanding. Also amazing value for money.
Could not recommend more highly!

Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks Alison for your excellent review and recommendation.

It’s always a pleasure to hear that customers enjoy the whole experience of dining at Rachel’s as it’s reassuring to know that we are doing it right.

We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say. We were staying at a nearby campsite on the late May bank holiday and decided to stroll into west bay. We were planning on grabbing a quick sarnie from somewhere for lunch until we happened to stumble Cross Rachel's and caught a glimpse of some of the delights that people were tucking in to. We couldn't help but stay to try the food for ourselves. We ordered our food then took our drinks to sit on the wall over looking the harbour while we waited for our table. Less than 10 minutes later the very friendly and hard working waitress called us to our table. My other half had ordered the chowder which was simply divine and easily enough to feed 2. I had the salt and pepper squid which was so delicious and cooked to perfection. The accompanying home made coleslaw and salad with the nicest chips I've had in a long time finished the dish off perfectly. My little girl had the children's fish and chips which again was perfect. We finished off with a very generous warm gooey brownie with ice cream which again was absolutely delicious and at £2.50 the best value brownie ever. The portions were huge and the price extemly cheap for the quality of food. Go there you won't be disappointed.

Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation.

We are pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us and hope to see you another day if you are ever in this area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Third year of visiting. Just gets better, the fish platter was delicious. One of our party was indisposed and Rachel kindly packed it all up to take across the road.
Sometimes it gets really, really busy but please it is worth the wait.
The staff are great.

Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for you excellent review and recommendation Veronica.
Look forward to seeing you next year if you’re visiting Westbay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for a coffee here very friendly. It was obviously a popular place to eat with locals and holiday makers alike as a lot of the tables had been reserved for lunch.

Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review.
As we tend to be popular we allow customers to ring and book a table for lunch at 12md when we start service.
Unfortunately we cannot take bookings for later than that because it would be unfair keeping a table empty when there may be people queuing.
If you are a lover of fish please stop and try a meal next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for quick cupper on way back from the West Country. All the tables were taken with diners so we asked for a take away coffee and tea. To our pleasant surprise we were given the option of having it in a china mug “just pop it back to us when you are finished”. How fantastic is that...... 2 less plastic cups in landfill and we could sit on the sea front with the beautiful views. Tea and coffee were fab tasting too! Thank you Rachel’s

Thank HelenRig2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are endeavouring to become environmentally friendly so it’s always a pleasure to serve like minded people who don’t mind taking a few steps back to the kiosk to return the empty mugs.
We look forward to seeing you again if you’re passing this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing