We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
0
1
4
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
1
4
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked this place directly with the owners. Knew before hand (it's a pensione, not a B&B) that breakfast wasn't included. Cost really wasn't that bad and the rooms were OK. The plumbing (welcome to Italy) was a disaster. The only problem - as described here - was that we had to make a toll-call to check in and the place was totally insecure. When we finally got old man Pistolesi, he told us it would be about two hours until we could check in - just left to pick our noses until then. The beds were your usual two inches of straw - but the biggest issue was that this place is only one (or two) floors above the only walking street in Radda. All sorts of VERY liquored up people at all hours of the evening (I'm talking 3 AM). If you have another option (e.g., if you aren't a starving backpacker), pick someplace else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueHenFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottavio10, Direttore generale at Pensione Elio Pistolesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Sir,
You had chosen to spend a night in Radda in the same week end of the wine tasting along the village " Radda in the glass". It is not responsibility of the hotel if you were disturbed by noises coming from outside ( I would like to underline that Radda is a very small village, and that is highly unlikely to find people shouting in the main road at 3 AM).
Regarding the rest, our staff was at the recreation when you came in, so I can' t understand the reason why you are trying to say that you had to wait for a long time for checking in.
You had already seen some pictures of the hotel rooms, and the price was the best you could ever find in the region, so there isn't much to complain about.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was one of the worst experiences ever! To start with, in the confirmation email we received from Expedia it said that the check-in was done only between 4pm-7pm, but since we were not sure whether we could be there by 7pm we were calling all day the number given in the email but no one responded all day and we only discovered the following morning that the number was not correct +39 0577738556. We also tried to phone Expedia Italy since calling the UK one, through which we made the booking would be quite costly but they were not able to help us saying that they could not give us a different contact, even though they advertise this B&B as well.
So after reorganizing the whole day, we somehow managed to be there around 7:10pm and we luckily caught the receptionist on her way out. When I asked her why no one responded all day she just said that it was a family owned B&B and that there wasn’t always someone available!!! Then she took us across the road, rang a doorbell and waited for an old lady to open the door, after which she just said to the lady to take care of everything and she disappeared. Then, after having to climb various stairways, this old lady took us to a room that did not correspond at all with what we’ve booked – it was small and dirty and there was no breakfast included – in other words it definitely was not worth the £43/€50 we paid. We also took pictures just to have some evidence. Since there was no one to talk to (it was after 7pm) we decided to somehow survive the night and to talk to someone in the morning, but when we went to the reception there was no one there. We found a business card and phoned the cell number and we discovered that we were on the phone with Elio Pistolesi himself!! So we asked to see him saying that we wanted to settle the bill, to which he said that the money has been already taken from our account, even though when we booked the room it said “Reserve now, pay later”!!! Then we said that we would like to talk to someone and get a receipt and he said that he could come in 5 minutes. However, he didn’t bother coming himself but sent another employee, who actually told us that the place where we slept was NOT part of the B&B as Elio Pistolesi suggested on the phone, but it was a completely different accommodation provider, which was obvious at that point but for some reason no one bothered to inform us beforehand. So not only the owner did not notify us about the changes to our booking, he lied about the other place being a part of his B&B, he distributed a wrong telephone number and on top of everything he debited the money for the room we have booked but that we definitely haven’t slept in, probably paying the lady some €30-35 or whatever she charges and keeping the rest for himself. He violated our rights and sadly after sending a complaint to Expedia we have not heard from them yet, after almost 4 weeks! Definitely not recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottavio10, Direttore generale at Pensione Elio Pistolesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

madam,
Your review is simply ridiculous. Your credit card was charged of the cost of the room since you had made a PREPAID BOOKING.
I suggest you to pay much more attention on the hotel policy issues before to reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

STOP! This is no B&B because there is no kitchen, no dining room, no breakfast. It's much too expensive and the rooms are ugly. Parking is very expensive or far away. The heating is not working but it's cold on the mountain. The beds are terrible uncomfortable. STOP!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollychella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottavio10, Direttore generale at Pensione Elio Pistolesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

sirs,
Your review has OBVIOUSLY been written by somebody who has never lodged at our hotel, and I'm going to explain you why:
1- the hotel isn't a bed and breakfast, there isn't any restaurant or dining room, as clearly explained on every website. If you hadn't read the hotel description carefully is not our responsibility.
2- if in you opinion 55 Euro for a double room with private bathroom, towels and TV is a very expensive price, I' m afraid you won't find any other nice and cheap place to stay in this region.
3- Your have written that the rooms are ugly: well, if you were a honest person, you would have explained in details the reasons of your opinion.
4- the heating system wasn't working in that, since there was an average of 28 degrees.
Regards
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Nice hotel in a small but very 'tuscany' village. The hotel has no services but the room was very spacious and warm which was very welcoming since we arrived on a cold December night.
We were welcomed by a smily lady that had been waiting for us for 30 mis.
Note that it takes 40 mins drive to Siena on a curvy road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramuga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottavio10, Direttore generale at Pensione Elio Pistolesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Sirs,
Since you already knew that breakfast wasn't included, I don't understand why you write about it (are you maybe just looking for a reason to complain?).
The pensione doesn't have a restaurant, but it is placed in the very centre of the village, and there is a very large choice of restaurants.
As concerning the price, 55 Euro for a big room with private bathroom, TV and towels is a very good price, you won't find any other place like this with the same price.
regards
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We were on a cycling holiday in Tuscany and the first leg of our trip was from Siena to Radda, which was a long day at approx 45km. The weather was great, but was a bit on the cool side especially after cycling fast downhill for a few kilometres. So when we arrived at Podere Le Vigne, we were happy to see a great little hotel set amongst vistas of vineyards, what looked like a great restaurant (lots of choices for vegetarians – something we’d struggled with on our trip so far) and a cosy feel. We had to wait outside though for a while as the reception didn’t open until 3.30pm and we arrived at 2.50pm, so we were getting a little colder as the minutes passed – but that didn’t matter as we would soon be in what looked like a comfortable little Tuscan hotel.

What actually happened is that the man at reception, can’t fault his friendliness, said that we were to moved to one of their other places in town. So we were taken with our baggage in his not very clean car to a place in town. We thought that this wouldn’t be so bad as he said it was a good room with a balcony with a choice of loads of restaurants. The picture you immediately get in your head is some quaint room where you could sit on a balcony pouring with geraniums overlooking a busy street in the old town where you could pass your time watching life go on below with a glass of Chianti in hand. We were speechless as we were led to a small doorway, through a hall where an old Italian lady sat at a tiny desk (remember this was a hallway), which we were led past up a load of stairs and through a room with some old tables and chairs scattered around. We then entered our room, which like the rest of the building was cold, gloomy, very old furniture and very tired looking (don’t be fooled by the pictures on the website which clearly have been dressed and lightened). The balcony may have been a nice addition, but you had to climb to it through some wooden steps that had been placed against the wall to the door, it overlooked other houses to the extent you could see everything people were doing in their houses and it hadn’t been cleaned for I don’t know how long.

We were actually quite shell shocked at being moved from a hotel in a great location to this. On top of its gloomy appearance it was freezing cold and we couldn’t stay in there so had to wander around the old town and find a restaurant to keep warm. All we really wanted to do was rest after our long cycle. On our way back to this hostel type place, for that is what it was complete with its own kitchen area, the man who had brought us was there. We don’t usually complain, but in this instance we had to say something. We asked for the heating to be put on but was told that Italian law doesn’t allow that until November 1st due to pollution, but he would get us an electric heater. We didn’t get the heater but when we came back an hour later the heating had been turned on, which did make the room slightly more acceptable.

The man also told us that this ‘hotel’ and I use that term very loosely was the same star rating at Podere Le Vigne. I don’t think so…. I have some issues with the way that the Italians grade hotels as all the hotels we stayed in were classified as three star, but all were very different in terms of quality and services offered. Whilst we were there I was even doubting that this was two star, which is what I thought it was – it certainly doesn’t rank in my book as an even very poor two star – there were just no facilities – it is a building with rooms in it. The room was a good size and the bathroom was clean, but we weren’t even given two towels each leaving me to try and dry my hair with a tea towel!!!

Anyway, back to the final issue with this place and another reason why I believe that this cannot be a three star establishment. We were told we had to check out of our hotel at 8.30am before we’d had breakfast, leaving no opportunity for last minute packing, cleaning teeth or getting changed into our cycling gear. The reason for this is that we had to be taken back in a minibus with our packed bags to Podere Le Vigne for our breakfast!! Believe me this wasn’t worth the effort and if it wasn’t for the fact that our bikes were there and that our bags had to be picked up from there (because we were booked into Podere Le Vigne not Elio Pistolesi) we would have stayed in town to get something and checked out when we wanted to as opposed to be told when. I had read on TripAdvisor that this breakfast wasn’t up to much but the reviews of the hotel and restaurant were good and as we were on a cycling tour with not much choice over hotels I thought the breakfast wouldn’t be an issue for one day. But given our experience so far this was the final straw. We were herded into a small room with not really that much breakfast left and people scrambled to get the remains of the one choice of cereal and the few remaining yoghurts. Four pieces of stale bread were plonked on our table and when asked to fill up the jugs for milk, tea and coffee the lady implied that as there were some contents left in them then they would need to be finished off first. We left – not a good start to a hard days cycling ahead of us.

Maybe the fairly average rating of this place on TripAdvisor is because people on a budget were staying here and knew what they were letting themselves in for or wanted a room in the centre and weren’t bothered amount including breakfast in their stay. I wouldn’t recommend this place at all as a hotel because it wasn’t one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Samkirk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews