We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tokyomike55
Bangkok, Thailand

The best place I've stayed in years!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2018
Where to start...everything about our stay was excellent. In fact, I would say this is the best all-around place I've stayed at in years. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, it had a full kitchen with utensils and plates so we could bring stuff back from the market to eat and also chill over a coffee in the room in the mornings, and they had free wifi in the room that was fast enough to watch a movie on my iPad on Netflix (there's no movie channel etc in the room). The bed was comfy, the huge V-shaped couch was a comfortable place to chill at the end of the day, we liked the overhead fan and funky decor, and the view from the balcony was just green, green, green...it felt like being at home. We loved it.

Check in and check out were smooth, and the staff were really friendly and explained everything in both Thai and English. They gave us an upgrade as well, so we got a nice fruit basket on the first day, which we really enjoyed. Thanks for that. The property is set back away from the beach by about 150 meters or so, so there is no beach view, so be aware of that when you book. The upside of that is that the place is silent at night, and the grounds feel nicely isolate and are nice to walk around because...yup, more green. If you're staying in Rayong, you definitely should have a car, so the distance from the beach isn't a problem. Most days we just drove along till we found a perfect spot, parked on the road and did our beach thing.

In terms of small issues, there was a small problem with the water temperature due to the, I assume, the water pumps. It did the hot and cold thing quite a bit. Also, the balcony doors need to be lubricated as they don't open or close well.

In terms of things to do, DEFINITELY check out Samed National park, which is just up at the end of beach road and around the corner. You drive in and eventually you'll find your way to the parking area by the beach front. They have nature trails, a beach trail, and there are monkeys everywhere and monitor lizards laying about here and there.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi.
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free parking
Pool
Gemütliches Gartenrestaurant...
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
5.0 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
1.7 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Agoda.com
5.5 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
MM Villa Kon Ao
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from The Oriental Tropical Beach At VIP Resort
View more hotels in Phe
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
10
13
9
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
13
9
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

It’s iur 3d visit to VIP chain resort, and this year we were a lot surprised with higher prices but worse service accompanied with worn out fascilities. The appartments in buildings A and B desperately need thourough cleaning and renovation: balcony doors are wrecking, air cons live their own schedule regardless you pressing the button, water heaters have gone to the end of their life cycle. That could sound fun, but mot when you are living with all the above. Besides, it takes you ages to persuade the staff to fix or change something. No English anywhere near))). Restaurant by the pool: food is ok, but it takes 15 minutes for 2 capucinos and 45 minutes for 2 breakfasts with eggs. We chose the place at the beach instead - same food but more responding service with lovelier pricing. If you decide staying here, book villa or building C appartment which is built and furbished this year. All the other fascilities: pools, lanrs and etc are well held, clean and neat.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 588olesyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

This place was almost too peaceful :) But the apartment was very nice and clean. Pools were more than OK.
Breakfast was overpriced.
The staff wasn't very helpful there, for example no one helped us with our heavy luggage when we arrived (me and my 10-years-old daughter).

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ailamariv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here and it's a ripoff. It's more a real estate agent trying to sell units than a resort. They advertise nice glossy pics to entice you in. If your silly enough to book here you can't blame anyone but yourself.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Nice place, but many things could be a lot better, especially if they would like returning customers, but my feeling was that they preferred easy money instead of happy customers… They like to charge extra money for just about anything, which also could be ok if not the prices were way to high... Ex. 150 baht pr day for internet for 1 unit (!), If we wanted internet for 4 telephones/iPads we would have to pay 600 baht pr day on top of room price… 20 baht for a single cup of coffee in the room... etc. etc... not even a free bottle of water in a room for 2300 baht pr night, they charge 20 baht for a bottle of water in the room…

We paid a deposit for 50% when ordered, we arrived late (after office closed) but already next morning the office staff asked us 4 times in less than half an hour for the rest payment, which made us feel like they thought we have no intention to pay… not very service minded, so we had to rush to an ATM to satisfy …

Beware that there are not much to do or see in the area without driving, the office arrange taxi for you but again to overrated prices. The beach within walking distance were not very pleasant, not clean, full of garbage, maybe better in another time of year, but not nice when we were there in July… so if you want to visit beach you would have to drive to a better location.

Only a few persons at site speak english, staff in restaurant are nice and helpful, but inexperienced, which lead to misunderstandings and long waiting for food.

With some improvements on prices and service, the place could be all right, but we are not returning.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stian_Vilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This would have to be the worst place I've stayed in during my travels throughout Thailand. The pictures look nice but as they say 'looks are deceiving'. The restaurant and bar are open only until 8.00pm. If you want breakfast you have to book the day before. The putt putt course was covered in rubish. The tour desk consists of 1 trip to Kom Samet that is overpriced. You have to pay for coffee or tea you use in the room (complimentary everywhere else), and room service is non existing as you have to go to the restaurant and order it. To me I call that takeaway, not room service. There are no taxis or buses so you stuck if you don't have a car. The beach is filthy, covered in piles of rubbish and dead fish. I could go on and on about this place but it makes me angry every time I think about it. So beware the traveller who books this place. You've been warned!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews