We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
358
306
93
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
306
93
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shipthe pubone nightmicro breweryrestaurant next doorflam railwayseparate buildingadjacent restaurantbeer tastingnutshell tourgreat beergreat viewoff seasonnice breakfastfamily roombreakfast is servedcozy hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small hotel situated right at the end of Aurlandsfjord, where the cruise ships arrive in Flam. Our room was small but clean, and well laid out so that it didn’t feel like it was too tight or that we didn’t have enough space. It had just the basics: a walk-in shower, a combination soap/shampoo in an eco-friendly dispenser, no safe and no drawers. Outlets were hard to find. A big plus were the refrigerator and coffeemaker in the room, with ice and a shared ironing board downstairs.

I think the main reasons I liked the room were the large windows and balcony with seating facing the fjord. It’s true that there will probably be a cruise ship parked in front of the balcony during the day, but the view of the fjord at night is great, and watching the cruise ships arrive and depart is a lot of fun. You can check the Aurland port schedule to see which ships will be in port on a particular day, or if you want to find a day when there are no cruise ships. Breakfast was great, the pub associated with this hotel had terrific food, and overall I enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We happened to be in Scandinavia during a record-breaking heat wave. We absolutely understand that this was an unusual and rare occurrence so most Scandinavian hotels are not air conditioned. We did have some pretty uncomfortable and sleepless nights due to the heat, but we don't think it's fair to base our review on something that was out of the hotels' control. Instead, we're focusing on what the staff did to try to make their guests comfortable given the situation.
We booked the Norway in a Nutshell tour, but decided to do it in two days rather than one. There were 3 or 4 hotels offered/recommended and we chose The Flamsbrygga Hotell (even though it was the most expensive option) because, from the pictures, it appeared to be a lovely place and was convenient to both Flam's train station and ferry dock. Boy did we make a mistake! Our unpleasant experience with the hotel began on check-in. The unfriendly young woman behind the reception desk took our name, looked us up in her computer, threw our key cards on the counter, and waved vaguely to the right, saying "The rooms are next to where you eat breakfast". We headed back outside and proceeded to circle the complex of buildings a couple of times, unable to find anything that looked like an entrance to a hotel. Finally, in desperation, we went into one of the hotel's restaurants (they weren't serving at the time so no one was inside) and approached one of the waitresses, asking if she could direct us to where the hotel rooms were located. She immediately raised her voice at us and began shouting about the receptionists constantly giving bad directions to the guests and how she was constantly having to lead guests to their rooms. She finally stopped yelling at us, walked us through the restaurant, out a side door and pointed at a pair of sliding glass doors leading to a winding staircase. We finally found our room and opened the door to one of the weirdest rooms we've ever stayed in. The room had 3 extremely narrow twin beds; two that had been pushed together and one (it was really only a cot) on its own. The window was so high up the wall that you had to climb a ladder to get to it. The room was absolutely stifling when we got there so my husband immediately climbed the ladder to open the window and close the louvers. Unfortunately, since the ladder was bolted directly to the wall there was no way he could put his toes through the rungs and he ended up sidling up it like a crab (I've attached a picture). We are both pretty spry people, but I think anyone with mobility issues would have a real problem dealing with this. We got the window opened, shut the louvers and discovered that the blinds were several inches short of the bottom of the window so, even with the louvers closed, a wide band of sun (and heat) came into the room, directly across the beds (please see pictures). After an hour or so, with the room remaining like an oven, I went to the lobby to ask if they had a fan or any suggestions on how we could cool the room down. The young man behind the desk said, nope, no fans and when I explained about the big gap under the blinds, he replied, "Yep, I have the same problem at home". Thanks for sharing, but how is this helpful? We spent a miserable night, with no sleep at all. Even after the sun set, the gap under the blinds let in so much light that it was like trying to sleep with the lights on.
Other than being convenient for the train station and ferry dock, we can't think of a single reason to recommend The Flamsbrygga Hotell.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R and S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir S, Sales Manager at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guests,

We cannot apologize enough for the unusual experience you had with us. This is a very unfortunate situation where our internal routines have failed. Flåmsbrygga consists of three buildings, and we walk our guests to their rooms if they are staying in another building than where the reception is located. We are truly sorry that our routines failed accomodating you. We aplogize for the unpleasant meeting with our staff and will assure you that customer service is a top priority, and we have great ratings concerning customer service on all our platforms (booking.com / tripadvisor....). Again, we did not provide the excellent service with you, and for that we are truly sorry. Please know that we are taking this matter seriously and that we are talking to all managers and staff in all departments to prevent situations like this in the future.

In regards of the room, we aplogize that it did not meet your expectations. You booked one of our standard double rooms without balcony, and we only have three of these. We understand that during the heat wave this summer it can get a bit warm only having a window to open, and we aplogize that we did not have any fans left to lend you. This exact room has an original layout where you have to climb a short ladder to open the window, and we apologize for this inconvenience. We are looking in to other ways to solve the technical issues you addressed, and highly appreciate this feedback.

Last but not least we want to thank you for giving us your review. This unfortunate experience is definately not on terms with what Flåmsbrygga is delivering and should deliver. If there is anything else you want to address or have any questions, please e-mail us!

Regards,
Torgeir
Sales Manager
Flåmsbrygga Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You really can’t beat the views. Amazing. We stayed here for one night and the views alone warrant a stay. Delicious food and beer is available at the neighboring brew pub. The location is an excellent stopping point for exploring the fjords and flam valley. The breakfast was unremarkable, but if you enjoy a night at the brew pub, maybe you won’t mind so much.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here because we didn't want to cram Norway in a Nutshell into one day, a good decision for us. Nice sized room, clean bathroom, balcony. Good breakfast with lots of choices. Pretty view often blocked by a cruise ship.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are on a fjords tour, try to stay here as it is close to the docks and great views. It is the best place to stay from a location perspective and probably for quality as well. Definitely worth the higher price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews