We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveller rating
883
700
344
162
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
883
700
344
162
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house leisure facilities manor house coffee lounge sauna and jacuzzi motel style lovely grounds course dinner wedding venue reception staff bar menu buffet style one night stay short break a lovely stay following morning breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Perfect place. beautiful food, the best we have had for a long time, and we eat out a lot!!!! service was extremely good at dinner (even though they were very busy) and breakfast the chef Mark was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Check in and out was good and staff very cheerful. Local village of Wickham was a nice morning out with little shops and tea rooms.
Thank you New Place Team

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1982tommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at New Place. I know Mark will be encouraged by your feedback. I do hope I can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

contemporary room for a 2 night break, no herbal teas, no hot chocolate, stained mattress protector, TV temperamental, bed sheet wrong way round, cold shower, handle on bathroom door couldn't be opened from within the bathroom. All staff were very pleasant. They did sort the hot water out on the same day we arrived. However, the dining experience could have been better, had to sit in the back room as the 'wedding party' had to have the main dining room, so they could chat together! Maitre d didn't take our drinks order, had to ask a couple of staff for drinks, toast and glasses for fruit juice! I can't say the stay was unpleasant the swimming pool and jacuzzi was lovely. We were offered another room but didn't fancy packing and unpacking again, the next room could have equally been as problematic! At £119 a night I did expect a little more. The noise from other guests was equally intrusive, dragging their luggage along the path (instead of the grass) at midnight, but you can't ever control how selfish people can be. Rooms were very hot despite the fact that the temperature outside was 19 degrees. The rooms have windows that you can open but then you have the noise from outside!

Room tip: I don't think there are any great rooms
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank admin_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Stunning hotel in a quiet country location. It seems to be primarily a training and conference venue so the majority of rooms are in blocks away from the main house;not sure if you can stay in the main house. Our room was at the far end of the accommodation blocks so the good news was we could park our car outside, other rooms had a walkway and grass to the front. Suggest you ask about the location of your room. Also, meals are served in the main house so ok if it's a good day but you'll need a coat or umbrella otherwise! Evening meal was good and waiting staff ( all five of them!) were efficient and we were impressed to get some gluten free rolls! A bit thin on toiletries in the room, just two pots of shower gel and a bar of soap so don't foget anything! Lots of grounds to stroll around. Breakfast was very nice and, again, gluten free options were appreciated plus advice from the Chef.

Room tip: Ask where your room is located, especially if the weather isn't good and you may need to walk to the restaurant
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobydigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The main attractions here are the old main building and he extensive gardens and grounds. The bedrooms and leisure suite are more recently build buildings but suffer from being on the small size, a lost opportunity given the number of acres. The restaurant cannot serve all the residents for dinner so you need to book or go elsewhere. Villa Romana in Fareham was excellent. Breakfast at the hotel was good but you had to wait 10 minutes to get some toast out of the machine. We ordered some barfood and that was nice. Overall, an enjoyable stay with a few drawbacks.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gps777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

The main building is very impressive although the accommodation is not in the main building itself. The grounds are very impressive too and the backdrop is very pleasant. The Spa facilities are not the best but the swing pool was lovely and warm with the water chest high all around which made the swim very relaxing. We had booked a dinner as part of our package and the food was reasonable. The breakfast process was a bit convoluted if you wanted an egg and the breakfast experience was not enhanced by the presence of one of those mothers who thought that the world revolved around her and her precocious little darlings. That said there was plenty of choice and what there was was very nice. The pubs nearby provide lovely alternatives to the hotel food

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnoldF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews