We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
102
97
52
53
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
97
52
53
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived by boat from Camogli. climbed many stairs to the hotel which was worth it. Lots of Windows in our large room with a wonderful breeze.Great to be able to sleep with all Windows open and the sound of the sea . Next morning the sea was too rough for our exit so we had to walk. It was supposed to be 40mins straight up but we missed the sign to Rocco and arrived in Camogli 2hrs later. Not for the elderly or anyone with bad knees. Lovely hotel shame about to rough sea.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lkm507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaCamogli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Stella Maris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Ikm507
thank you for your review, we are happy you had great time and enjoied Stella Maris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The resort is different and romantic because the place is away from the city.
The silence and relax is the two words that it represents .
Rooms are very suggestive , big and clean. the style is ancient romantic chic and rural.
There is a SPA for relaxing and cuddles. Their food is very good and they use the local products.
I only hope I can return early.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The location is outstanding with a superb view of the Camogli gulf stretching up to Genoa. The great plus of Stella Maris is the it is located at the tip of a peninsula, fairly high up on sea level, and you can access it either by boat (scheduled services from Camogli) or after a two hours hike climbing to 250m ASL then down on a thousands steps stair, for well inside two hours walk. And even getting there by boat you have to climb few steps after landing under a very high vertical rock, all this emphasise the sense of being out there out of the crowds in a very beautiful spot. Lord Byron wrote a poem inspired by the place when he was there. The room given to us was very nice, spacious and clean; the bed comfortable with a very good mattress. We visited the spa which is complete and runs very well. Dinner at the restaurant was good and you can see the restaurant staff are really making an effort to produce good food with locally sourced products (they use cable cars to ferry it up from shore up to the hotel) and the wine selection has room for improvement. The service is rather attentive. Overall the staff was very courteous as my wife left her reading glasses behind: they kindly looked for them, find them a gave them to the people of the boat service which brought them to our next destination. Even the packing of the glasses was meticulously done to avoid damages. Marco arranged everything. The place is idyllic and could get better if they would have someone taking care of the gardens which have great potential but seem poorly kept: more dedication to this area will enhance the experience of staying there. From the hotel you can easily walk down to the actual Punta Chiappa and have a swim in very, very clean and blue waters.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giulio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaCamogli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Stella Maris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Good morning Giulio,
I wanted to thank you for sharing your review about your stay at Stella Maris. We like to see how you were able to appreciate the location our restaurant and the walk to get here. See you soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at StellaMaris in late April 2016, which is still considered low season. It was a peaceful and perfect time for us. The accommodation was pleasant and we had a lovely time. Our plan was to hike between Camogli and Portofino and for that the location of the hotel is optimal. The exact location is called Punta Chiappa, which you reach either by connection boat, or by walking from Camogli (at least 1h going up first to San Rocco and then down to Punta Chiappa). As the name implies the hotel consist of older buildings and they aren't very modern. But we prefer this kind of style. Breakfast was, as often in Italy, not too versarile. The hotel restaurant serves a very nice dinner with local fish in the evenings. The view is, with lack of better words, simply stunning. The sunset over the seaview is unforgettable. The Staff was nice and very helpful.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nrosenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaCamogli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Stella Maris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2016

Dear Niklas R.
I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor, we have really appreciated your datailed review on the location, the restaurant and our staff. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

SellaMaris is its own Cinque Terra without the crowds ! The views are fantastic and the staff very friendly . Mind you its easier to get there by boat and well with it . The restaurant offers great food and wine . I like traveling to quiet places is this is one of them .

Room tip: Room 16 is nice with a view .
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreaCamogli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Stella Maris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear Bluemoonh,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you appreciate Stella Maris experience. We hope to see you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews