We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
83
56
32
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
56
32
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melon room with a sea view salami coffee and juice small selection of food per day air con star hotel wear a swimming cap nice hotel swimming pool minute drive fantastic location an umbrella olbia airport gina inflatables
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at Hotel Castello as a part of a group of nine (6 adults, 3 teenagers) from 24/07/18 for one week. We found the hotel to be extremely clean and welcoming. The staff were always polite and smiling. The rooms were very clean, We had 2 seaview rooms and 2 regular rooms. The cleaner worked very hard all through the day and came daily to change bedding and towels and clean the rooms. She was always very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, croissants, cereals, yogurt, bread, ham, salami, cheese etc and was always replenished up until 10.30-11ish every day. Maybe slightly more fruit would have been nice but there was melon on offer every day. The views from the hotel were lovely and the beach a stones throw away. The pool area was clean and tidy and we had bought swimming hats after reading the reviews although we only used the pool on one occasion. The beds on the beach are rented for three varying prices from 20 - 30 Euros for 2 beds and an umbrella per day but there is plenty of room on the beach if you want to bring your own bed or towels to lie on. To compensate the price of the sunbeds the supermarket is 5 mins away, as are a couple of shops that sell ready made salads,pasta etc so it is easy to picnic on the beach daily. Also each room has a mini fridge so you can save money by stocking up the fridge with drinks etc and popping to and from the beach as and when needed. Also most people left inflatables, umbrellas, swimming hats etc in the foyer at the end of their holidays so don't buy lots of stuff, use what is there. Gina the hotel owner is extremely friendly and helpful and always happy to book taxi's, excursions, restaurants etc when needed. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she is always available. It would have been nice if there had been an outside terrace area for us to sit on and have a drink in the evening before we went out for dinner but all in all this hotel did not disappoint in any way. I would certainly recommend Hotel Castello to anyone looking for a nice,simple,relaxing holiday with many different nationalities staying in the hotel. The town, restaurants, bars etc are about a five minute walk away with plenty of choices. Also try and book a dolphin trip (via Gina). The evening trip with Alpha Diving (2hrs) was amazing (30 euros per head). Worth every penny to see these amazing creatures in their natural habitat.

Room tip: Seaview room for the panoramic view, but rooms at the back of the hotel tended to be bigger
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Very clean hotel and the sea view was great. Simple but very clean rooms (cleaned everyday) which had everything we needed. Breakfast was great and although one day we did have a cold shower the other ten days they were hot.

Gina was great and booked everything for us, car, trips, taxi etc.

The ‘hotel’ pool is actually the pool for the local area. There are no sun beds or snack bar so that was really disappointing initially. Plus all the rumours of swim hats are true. However the beach and the sea was gorgeous and so safe for kids. We were very happy there however it does feel like quite a local beach and not many English speaking people so it was harder for kids to make a few friends (to give us a break).

The resort is okay with restaurants, shops, market, boat trips etc. There was a great festival whilst we were there that added a great atmosphere! We found an amazing bar which we visited every night!

The Island is gorgeous and well worth an explore.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TrailBlazer155272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

On arrival at the hotel we were ordered to pay the taxi 40 euros we did not expect to pay this charge as we asked Gina before we left our house if our transfers were included in our stay. She replied in an email that our taxi was booked and the driver will meet us at the airport. So straight off the bat we were 80 euros short on our holiday spends. Gina should have been more clear in her explanation to us and say yes the taxi is booked but we will have to pay the charges to and from the airport.

What hotel have you ever been to that does not have sun loungers round the pool. Well Hotel Costello is the first hotel I have ever been to with no sun loungers round the pool. It seems like somebody came up with a plan to take all the sun loungers away from the pool area and put them on the beach front so they could charge people a fortune for renting them. They lined up all the sun loungers into three rows along the beachfront the back row costs 20 euros middle row costs 25 euros and the front row near the water a whopping 30 euros a day for two sun loungers and a brolly. So that was another 120 euros of our holiday spends gone that we did not account for.

We paid 120 euros a night for our room and we would liked to have at least a safe to put our money and passports in. Also there was no kettle in the room so you could not even make a brew for yourself. These are very basic but essential items every hotel should have.

When we went up to our room the hallway stank of somebody frying fish in their room.

If you come back to your room after 5pm you can forget about having a hot shower because the water will be cold not good, even a three star hotel should be able to provide hot water for their guests.

What I can say, that is good about this hotel is the breakfast is excellent, although it is not anything cooked mainly croissants, cakes, salmi and cheese. I would suggest taking a massive butty box to breakfast and fill it to the brim with croissants and cakes because the shop on the beach if very expensive.

The beach water is very clear and lukewarm I could snorkel for hours and hours.

Another good thing about this hotel is the cleaners they clean non stop all day.

As we were leaving Gina hit us with another surprise. Apparently you have to pay some sort of daily tax just for being in the town this was anther 20 euros not much for the week, but a final goodbye present from Hotel Costello.

If Hotel Costello could have been a bit more upfront with us with all these unforeseen costs we might have considered staying there again but now I never want to see this place again.

Their website is so nicely worded about free wifi on the beach but no mention of how much the sun loungers will cost you.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank drvodkavandorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M, Proprietario at Hotel Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Guest,
It does truly make me sad to find out trough your review that Hotel Castello didn’t meet your expectations. I would like to give you some clarifications based on what you quoted on your review.

“On arrival at the hotel we were ordered to pay the taxi 40 euros we did not expect to pay this charge as we asked Gina before we left our house if our transfers were included in our stay. “
I am truly sorry if there was a misunderstanding here as I am sure that was the case, a misunderstanding, as Hotel Castello clearly does not do false advertisement.

Reference from our website; http://www.hotelcastellogolfoaranci.eu/eng/services.php
Transfer Service - Service fee:
Transfer from/to Olbia:
from 1 to 3 persons € 40.00 per route
from 4 to 5 persons € 50.00 per route
from 6 to 7 persons € 70.00 per route
Other destinations: price to be agreed

“What hotel have you ever been to that does not have sun loungers round the pool. Well Hotel Costello is the first hotel I have ever been to with no sun loungers round the pool. It seems like somebody came up with a plan to take all the sun loungers away from the pool area and put them on the beach front so they could charge people a fortune for renting them. They lined up all the sun loungers into three rows along the beachfront the back row costs 20 euros middle row costs 25 euros and the front row near the water a whopping 30 euros a day for two sun loungers and a brolly. So that was another 120 euros of our holiday spends gone that we did not account for”.
Reference from our website; http://www.hotelcastellogolfoaranci.eu/eng/services.php
Beach
Free beach or Beach Service (for a fee, on reservation)
Pool
In a beautiful green meadow. Seasonal outdoor pool, from 15 June to 15 September.
The pool doesn’t have sun lounger as you said, reason being, the pool has been designed to be purely surrounded by nature and we do take care very much of the green meadow. I am sorry if you would of prefer the sunbeds. Also, in this case, Hotel Castello doesn’t advertise we do. The beach is free, everybody is welcome! Hotel Castello also offer a “Beach Service” for those who wants to reserve their own space with sunbeds and umbrella. This service is not included as mentioned in our website and is fully up to our guests if they want to consider it or not.
“We paid 120 euros a night for our room and we would liked to have at least a safe to put our money and passports in. Also there was no kettle in the room so you could not even make a brew for yourself. These are very basic but essential items every hotel should have.”
Unfortunately, not all the rooms have a safe now, the safe are being replaced and they will be in all the rooms any time soon. We are sorry for the inconvenient this might have caused you. We realise this can be an issue for our guests and for this reason, we allow are guests as we allowed you, to leave items at the receptions, in our safe. The reception is always open. I am sorry you missed a brew in the morning, and I am sorry you did not ask for a kettle. We would happily give you one!!!
In conclusion, I appreciate you took the time to leave a review. We working to improve every day.
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

I stayed at this hotel with my family. On arrival the receptionist was extremely helpful, showing us a selection of rooms to choose from, i believe this is a quite period in Sardinia as the pool was not open, this did not bother us as the sea was stunning, very shallow, i guess the whole point of going to Sardinia is to go in the sea!
Although our room was fairly basic, the view made up for it, absolutely amazing. You can hire umbrellas and sunbeds on the beach for a cost of between €15-€20 per day. For breakfast there was a variety of bread, ham, cheese, fruit and pastries.
The town is very small, with not alot going on. We were fortunate to have hired a car and took a trip to Baja Sardinia and the very chic Porto Cervo, both worth a visit (approximately a 40 minute drive). only a 20 minute drive from Olbia Airport.

Room tip: sea view is more than worth the upgrade
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M, Proprietario at Hotel Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We were more than satisfied and happy! Room with balcony and frontal seaside-view. Room was simple but very clean. All the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Gina, the owner. Great breakfast in a beautiful, sunfloated room, faced to the sea. This house is only recommendable! We will come back.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gprossliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews