We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
7
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
7
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We came to eat here for a family reunion meal, did not stay in the hotel.
This was a spontaneous choice as the closer first choice restaurant was closed that day. We booked the table about an hour before we arrived, and our party was 7 people, including 2 children.
The staff were incredibly courteous and helpful, and patient, especially given we had to translate the menu for more than half of the party.
They brought colouring books and nice pencils for the 2 kids without being asked, even though this is definitely a very upper crust kind of place.
We ordered 2 Kinderteller and 5 adult meals, and we were rewarded with a "greeting from the kitchen" surprise starter. It was a really delicious pie, disguised to look like a cake, and very tasty.
The kids' meals didn't come earlier than the adults, in fact, I think they came last which is a shame, but it wasn't very late, in any case. The kids' meals were far more interesting than in any English place that serves kids' meals, although there was an option for chicken nuggets for the extremely fussy child. We ordered pork schnitzels for the 4 yr old and 9 yr old and they loved them.
As for adult meals, the portions were HUGE, and the food was stunning.
I have no idea why German food isn't more popular or well known, because these dishes were on a par with top quality food in London or Paris, or Singapore 6* hotel restaurants I've been to.
The staff were more than happy to wrap up the left over food and when reheated the next day it was a super tasty lunch! Wish I could eat here again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank ToddyPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights .

Rooms are of a reasonable size and are clean and well maintained.

If you are over 6 foot tall beware that the beds are not comfortable for you , 6 foot is just ok.

Room has shower only .

Food in hotel is very good and plentiful-- you will not go hungry!

WiFi is free and works ok

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

If your looking for the real German experience then this is your hotel. It's small, quaint and in the heart of the city. Rooms are spotless and quiet. When you walk out the front door you are in the downtown square with shops and restaurants. Excellent breakfast buffet included and you won't find better food for dinner. It's a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank maryscary2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We just love the quaint little town of Kamen. It's so authentic Old Germany. The hotel sits right in the center of town on the square so your in walking distance of everything. The food was some of the best we have had in Germany. The hotel and the rooms are spotless and the staff were very accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel and town for visitors.

Room Tip: Noise is not a problem, the rooms are very quiet. Mattress could be a little bit softer but we all slept well.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramblemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently while travelling through Germany.We wanted to stay in non chain hotel.This hotel looks nice and was clean and tidy although we did not eat dinner there I think it would be very good.We had breakfast there which was fine although the scrambled eggs were solid.There were only 3 people staying there!!!
The bedroom was clean and basic.We opened the window in the morning and a lot of water came in.
We thought it was expensive the stay 90 euros
WIFI extra in 2014 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews