We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Family catch up

Lovely lunch a cheese share platter, lovely sav blanc as well lovely setting. Just disappointed we... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lorraewest
,
Ballarat, Australia
via mobile
Lazy delightful afternoon

I spent a lazy Easter Monday afternoon at Bennetts and had a great time. The venue is beautiful and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Paperwindow
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 49 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around City of Greater Geelong
from US$110.22
More Info
from US$320.56
More Info
from US$114.15
More Info
from US$105.49
More Info
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
25
8
7
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
8
7
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese board wine tasting cellar door sav blanc yangs winery ferry platter docklands wineries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Nice fun place to have a pizza and enjoy a glass or two of wine whilst listening to live music on the weekends. The view across the vines and bay towards The You Yangs is great too.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Stay604715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettsonbellarine, Manager at Bennetts on Bellarine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We love our live music sessions, and we are thrilled to hear you did too! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Lovely food, relaxed ambience, Pizza's are great, platter bigger and better than many of the other local wineries. Freshly made also not like some of the other wineries around.
Wine good.
Lovely wait staff, have been several times and always been a great time, will be back again soon..

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettsonbellarine, Manager at Bennetts on Bellarine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Hey Lynn

Thank you so much for leaving us with such a glowing account of your time with us!

We look forward to having you again some time soon to enjoy the wonderful wine, food and of course the view.

Kind Regards
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Ok so here is the deal, I am a local may not have been a local for 40 years but still a local resident with property in both Port and Indented Head ( not that should make any difference at all!!!!)
How were treated, like some city folk taking their time up.
We visited during January, yep get it that it’s a crazy time of the year BUT if you are in hospitality then be hospitable!!!!!
Menu was very limited, we ordered pizza which was lovely, nice thin base with fresh toppings.
When we booked we asked to be seated inside, that didn’t happen.
Nothing relaxed about our visit at all as staff were snappy and short. Service was extremely poor.
So as a local , when the silly season dies down who do you fall back on to provide cash flow? Yes your locals.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank KerryR290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettsonbellarine, Manager at Bennetts on Bellarine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Hi Kerry

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback with us, which is something we value wholeheartedly.

City folk aren't that bad are they? It's an age-old us vs them squabble that we as a business can't afford to weigh too heavily into. What I will assure you though is that we feel beyond privileged to be a part of the Bellarine community and being long-standing locals ourselves, we make conscious efforts to do all we possibly can for the Bellarine and surrounds.

Unfortunately we were unable to accommodate your request for lounges and a low table due to the fact that a large group of locals who are in most weeks had already reserved that spot for that particular sitting. We tried to accommodate you under the marquee where we believe the views are some of the best from that part of the deck. With reference to a limited menu; we keep the menu fairly limited as we'd prefer to do a few popular things well, which seemingly from your feedback is something we achieved on what was a fairly busy day.

Regarding service, this is something we as a management team stick our hand up and acknowledge we need to improve. As part of our endeavour to service the community through this unbelievably busy period, we fear we may have spread ourselves too thin given the minimal amount of staff we have. We desperately wanted to be open as much as possible so that more our locals and 'city folk' could enjoy the environment in Summer, however we may have fallen short on our ability to resource this. We’ve been really proud of our staff who've worked tirelessly to service our constantly thirsty community, we’re lucky we have them and if we could get more of the same it’d be a blessing. It's really hard finding more hospitality staff at the moment but I know that's not your problem.

I can assure you this isn’t a cultural or attitudinal problem as you've prescribed, but more of a lapse of judgement in not being able to staff well enough for the crazy demand that we experienced. This is something that we as a management team are taking on board and we're already in the process of addressing the concerns you’ve raised, which is an exercise we’re attacking from the top down.

With this, we're looking forward to the rest of the Summer with some fun things going on and plenty of people still keen to share a drink and the wonderful view. If you're willing to give us another shot, come and see me directly as I'm sure we can share a wine and a chat!

Cheers
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Visited for second time and staff were very rude on both occasions. Very embarrassing this time as we had guests with us. Only returned for the view. Staff’s poor attitude continued so we ate and left. Did not buy a second round of drinks. Did not buy dessert. Did not buy wine to take home. Previous reviews indicate staff rudeness is often experienced at Bennett’s. We will not be back. So many other great wineries on their doorstep.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank RubyHazelMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettsonbellarine, Manager at Bennetts on Bellarine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Hey Ruby

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide some feedback.

You're spot on about plenty of things here - we really do have some great wineries as neighbours and we're proud to share the the block, the view and the soil with Terindah, Jack Rabbit and Kilgour Estate.

With reference to rudeness; it's something we as a management team are taking very seriously and are in the process of addressing. Maybe yourself or someone close to you has operated a business before and is aware of the constant need to improve and get better; which is something we're attentive of right now after an unbelievably busy period. As part of our endeavour to service the community through this unbelievably busy period, we fear we may have spread ourselves too thin given the minimal amount of staff we have. We desperately wanted to be open as much as possible so that more our people could enjoy the environment in Summer, however we may have fallen short on our ability to resource this. We’ve been really proud of our staff who've worked tirelessly to service our constantly thirsty community, we’re lucky we have them and if we could get more of the same it’d be a blessing. It's really hard finding more hospitality staff at the moment but I know that's not your problem.

I can assure you this isn’t a cultural or attitudinal problem as you've prescribed, but more of a lapse of judgement in not being able to staff well enough for the crazy demand that we experienced. This is something that we as a management team are taking on board and we're already in the process of addressing the concerns you’ve raised, which is an exercise we’re attacking from the top down.

I know you've mentioned you won't be back but if you suddenly experience a change of heart and want to see that view once again, come and share a few glasses with us. Should we not be so lucky, Terindah, Jack Rabbit and Kilgour Estate I'm sure would be stoked to have you!

Cheers
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Went for lunch just after Christmas. I mistakenly went to the bar instead of ordering from my phone which I apologised for and offered to return to my table and do but the very unhappy looking man said no and proceeded o get my drinks. I asked if her had a nice Christmas to which he grunted “ no, I was working here”. Think many of the staff seem burnt out and over it. We will not return and I wouldn’t recommend as there are many other options where the staff are friendly and happy for you to be there.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank donnaaL4685EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettsonbellarine, Manager at Bennetts on Bellarine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Hi Donnaa

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

You're not wrong - it was an enormous Summer and we are so grateful to staff who were working huge weeks despite being so perilously undermanned. Now that staff have time to breathe a little, we're as enthusiastic as ever about our little but growing business - it really is great fun to be here. During the Summer rush we tried to be open to the community as much as possible so that more groups could enjoy the beautiful environment but learnt some valuable lessons from the cost in doing so. I can assure you this isn’t a cultural or attitudinal problem, but more of a lapse of judgement in not being able to staff well enough for the crazy demand that we experienced.

This is something that we as a management team are taking on board and we're already in the process of addressing the concerns you’ve raised, which is an exercise we’re attacking from the top down. In terms of ordering from the the bar; this is something we try to avoid where possible for COVID-19 Safety reasons and the contactless payment from the table has been really well received by our guests.

I am extremely confident that if you were to return back to see that sensational view once again; that your experience would be a much more enjoyable one. If you do have a change of heart, come and see me directly as I'd be rapt to have a chat and share a glass of wine.

Regards
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews