We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
angelicaumipig16
Lucena City, Philippines

Polillo isla beach resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2016
resort in Polillo features many modern amenities the cottages built with locally grown materials bamboo, coconut tree, mangrove tress and exotic gardens that parallel the beauty of the natural settings of the relax in our lovely cottages.
Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
  • Trip.com
getlstd_property_photo
Contact accommodation for availability.
Pool
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Polillo Island
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
1
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
1
1
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We took out 650 Kawasaki on the ferry they loaded an unloaded it for 200 Pasco each time. Drove to location on Google map an it was the wrong way so just ask the locals. The stay was very nice they have a really well keep pool. The place only needs someone to paint it an bleach the water mold out food was good local all the way. We're going to go back in the peak season.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The whole resort is quite spacious and well maintained on the outside. The room was a disaster, furniture quite old and got a lot of insect bites.
The manager organized trips trough the island to keep the guest entertained. It definitely does not justify a high price.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Hans50087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is best resort for its value. I can compare this to Boracay and Palawan resorts.

The food is excellent. All the fish (bangus) you could eat.

Dr. Ner Azuala even hired a "live" band to entertain his guests and relatives.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LeviDeGuzman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We waited for 6 hours for the boat. "Doc", owner of the resort", said the boat will arrive at 11AM, then 3PM, then 6 PM. We got sunburned because of waiting in the fish port. After 2 hours of night boat ride, we arrived at the house of Doc. We even have to wait for 1 and a half hour for the van. Upon the arrival in the resort, no apologies were given, not even a free dinner for their inconvenience. We arrived at 10PM(Mar29). and the owner doesn't even gave us discount for late check-in even if it's their fault why we came late. We ordered beer to stress out, but the resort don't have ice, so we ended up sleeping early and tried convincing ourselves that the beach is beautiful. When we got up in the morning, we were very disappointed because the beach is not worth seeing considering how long the travel was. We ended up checking-out at 12PM(Mar30). Advice: Stay away from this resort.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
49  Thank kjcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2012

1. Before the trip - Berne/Paye (nephew of the owner) offered the shuttle service of the resort - both van and boat. This should have been my first clue: when I asked what time the boat would leave Quezon, Berne/Paye just said they will wait for us. He said after some prodding that the boad would leave at 7am. We would be picked up at 3am, and with a 3-hour trip, that would be just right.

2. The land trip - The van picked us up on time (from Taguig City) but the the driver drove recklessly on the zigzag road. There were 10 passengers in the van - including two kids!

3. The sea trip - we boarded the resort's boat around 9am (as the van 'killed time' at the town and even stayed at the hospital - where the owner's sister is a doctor - for an hour!). Approximately 70 more passengers boarded in a span of 3 hours and there were no signs of the boat leaving yet. Finally, the sister-in-law of the doctor arrived at almost 12nn and the sea travel began! This woman - whom around 70 guests of the resort waited for hours to arrive - did not even care to apologize. On top of that, she even made an insensitive remark when the boat conked out approx 30 minutes away from our destination, to which I retorted. Berne/Paye announced to the passengers that a free lunch would be served because of the inconvenience and delay.

4. Arrival at the resort - the free lunch turned out to be a buffet of rice, pancit, and a minute serving of tinola! This was supposed to appease those who travelled 13 hours unneccessarily, and for the inconvenience??? We ordered chicken (turned out to be fried instead of barbeque as indicated in their menu) for our group. It turned out that the staff were so unprepared and not trained at all our order was not listed. And, because, we could not identify who took our order (of course, we did not know anybody in the resort!) we ended up not paying for it.

5. Our room - the room was dirty and unmade when we checked in. The bathroom was dirty and the floor had soil marks. We even had to ask for the beddings to be changed. Oh, by the way, the resort did not have any clothes hanger to lend us! When we asked one of the staff, they said they were undermanned.

6. The kitchen and menu - the guests waited for 2 hours for the food order to arrive. This I must not forget: there were only 5 dishes in the menu - 2 preparations for sugpo (shrimp), chopseuy, pakbet, and chicken (pick your choice: on one day it was barbeque, the next day it was buttered chicken). There was no fish (except for daing na bangus for breakfast) nor seafood that vacationers are wont to order in beach resorts. A cup of hot water cost us 4.00! A piece of ripe mango - 40.00!, a 250ml bottled water - 20.00!. In Filipino language 'sobrang harang!'.

7. The pool - the water was not clear and it's ideal for kids only. The caretaker admitted they did not have budget to buy chlorine!

8. The broken promises - (a) Berne/Paye said the market is accessible: Truth: the resort is around 10k from the town and tricycle cost is 250/one way. (b) Berne/Paye said we can buy fish from fishermen who would pass by the beach. Truth: there is no way for a fisherman to come near the beachfront as there was a sort of boundary/wall made of stones. (c) The staff would say it would only be a short waiting time (ie for food to arrive, for the shuttle to arrive, etc). Truth: you need tons of patience and be prepared to wait for hours on end!

The result: four groups of guests, including us, checked out of this resort the following day. We cut short our stay (instead of the original plan of 4 days)...and also our negative experience!

My advise: Stay as far away from this resort if you want a relaxing, pleasant, and hassle-free vacation.

Room tip: Check in at the Seahorse Hotel or any other inns at the town.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Flora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews