We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
140
21
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
21
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka swimming pool the main road hidden gem mouth watering his wife long drive remote location spacious room must visit place have a good time brook jungle chef plantation estate nature
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We come frequently to Brook Boutique to relax from a demanding work schedule. And we never get disappointed. The secluded location is practically free of any civilisation noise, especially when you enjoy your time at the pool. Here you listen to hundreds of different birds while lounging or just go drifting in the clean water...It can't get better. The restaurant food is good quality and fresh! One special treat: dining during thunderstorm in the open space restaurant. Very romantic.

Room Tip: Any room is good but the best is the very last one in the row. It is the most quiet one.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank klausleiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

The hotel has a lot of potential, and a very nice staff. Beautiful plantations and surroundings but the place is very isolated and a long drive from the main road. Upon arrival you pass an completely empty room (previously an office or shop? ) and arrive in an enormous restaurant area. The rooms are big but feel a bit musty. The hotel was completely empty and we were the only guests.My daughter had been there before and told me there are local guests during the weekend, and that swimming lessons are given in the pool during the low season. The view from the pool is beautiful, but the water was troubled and dirty . There was no internet at all during our stay, not in the rooms nor in the lobby/restaurant. My children did not mind the loud music during all meals (even breakfast) but I would have preferred listening to the sounds of birds.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sabina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The hospitality of the staff lead by the manager and his wife was impeccable. Right from the welcome to the property until you got back to your vehicle,there was not a single moment we were left out. Always checking out on you and doing their best out from the usual jurisdiction will make your stay memorable for sure. Even the demanding food my mom was asking was prepared in short notice. And not to forget the food was awesome and the portions were big. A must visit for all kind of travelers.

Room Tip: Villa and Chalet with pools
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruchira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

well what could I say, visited brook with my wife and we were thoroughly spoiled by the overwhelming hospitality provided by the staff. All staff.. from the security guard to the chef (who we only met once) are very nice.. and they go beyond their way to ensure that we have a good time.. Mouthwatering food, quiet surrounding entangled with nature, commendable location of the swimming pool with a breathtaking view, super comfy and spacious room, just tops this all to me this my favorite get away place..

Fellow trip advisor members this is a must visit place if you want a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: we stayed at the Challets
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sajid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

A hidden gem (with the emphasis on ‘hidden’). We chose Brook as it was the nearest high Quality hotel to our excursion on 24 Feb, and were well aware that it was in a very remote location (we had decided to have a self-drive tour of Sri Lanka). If you’re being driven then there shouldn’t be any problems – if you’re doing self-drive, really plan your route.
We had booked a bungalow; this was exactly as advertised and very pleasant indeed. What we didn’t expect was that the accommodation was 400/500m from the main building and twice that to the swimming pool – not in itself a problem but not quite as expected from the photos.
We didn’t arrive until late afternoon and had to leave quite early the next morning, so didn’t have a great deal of time at the hotel; but this actually wasn’t too bad. I think we were the only guests at the time so it seemed eerily quiet – but if you like quiet….
Without doubt the pool is the gem; it is exactly as shown in the photos (incredible views over the jungle and across to nearly mountains) – a night at the Brook is justified by the pool experience alone.
Personally, we wouldn’t return; it’s too quiet and remote (and basically ‘dry’ in terms of alcoholic beverages) but this would be heaven to people who like peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews