We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
140
21
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
21
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaswimming poolthe main roadhidden gemmouth wateringhis wifelong driveremote locationpersonalized servicespacious roommust visit placehave a good timebrookjunglechefplantationestate
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Having stayed at Brook several times as a privileged and -well-pampered- guest during the past few years, Brook is one of my favourate weekend retreats in Sri Lanka. Lush and green, pristine and surrounded by nature, yet offering comfortable and high standard accommodation to a diverse set of guests from around the world, Brook provides a natural, peaceful, enclosed environment while personalized service of high standard, culinary delights, cultural excursions and excellent facilities are also part of the package. The pool is beautiful, the fruit garden a sheer delight. The owners ensure that the guests are well-looked after. In perfect harmony guests can opt to socialize or enjoy private time in comfortable, well-equipped chalets, enabling a good rest and peaceful sleep. The drive to and from Brook from Colombo is pleasant and enables to gain lovely impressions of our beautiful and diverse country, Sri Lanka. Enjoy the journey!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amiced7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

First the negative - it was 13 kms from the main road of which the final 3 kms were up an unmade road - but you drive through a plantation to get to the hotel and the location is absolutely beautiful and the view from the pool is simply stunning! Well worth the drive to experience the Sri Lankan countryside!

The hotel has all the facilities that you could ask for - the rooms were very comfortable and well maintained - the wifi worked in the main reception area - and the grounds were beautiful.

There weren't many people staying there - but the hotel would be perfect for a large group travelling together and it even has its own Karaoke room - not that we tried this out!

As with everywhere we visited in Sri Lanka, the staff were charming and always very helpful. The dinner we had the two evenings we spent there, was delicious.

Slightly too far from the main cultural areas and a lot of driving involved - but getting back to that pool....!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BellePlagneNickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

One of the nicest stays that we experienced in Sri Lanka so far. We stayed at Brook for 3 nights (10th-13th Dec 2016) and we were lucky enough to be accompanied by Indika, the General Manager of Brook to Na Uyana Monastery & Arankele Monastery. He even took us to a pottery village where we witnessed real pottery making. Indika was very very knowledgeable of the places where he took us and also knew other knowledgeable people to get us very valuable additional explanations. He was very helpful in taking our parents to the top of the hills where there was a great view. It was a holiday full of relaxation and knowledge. We are glad that we met a great friend during this trip.

Stay at Brook was very much closer to nature with so many trees surrounding the place. Sad that we did not have enough time to walk around their 80 acre land. We experienced the stay in all types of rooms, chalets and villas as we were travelling as a group. All of those were great - spacious and clean.

All of us including my 12 year daughter enjoyed the stay to the maximum. Thank you so much Indika, Janith, Marlon and rest of the staff who went much beyond their way to make our stay homely and happy. Whatever we requested, you were always willing to provide more than what we expected. No words to explain your service and we have no hesitation at all in recommending Brook to any other traveler. Thank you so much !!! Looking forward to see you all again.

Best Wishes from Deshantha.

Room Tip: Nice, Spacious & Clean
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Deshantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Pros: Super friendly staff, amazing property, fantastic rooms, beautiful pool with a view, close to nature - we loved this place and thought 2 nights were too short.

Cons: You have to travel down a really, really long dirt road which takes a long time and is quite uncomfortable - so to get there and back to the road you definitely need a driver. Unfortunately, they don't offer - as very common everywhere else - free driver accommodation. Calculate an extra 1500 Rs (10 Euros) per night for your driver (which we recommend you cover as the wages are so low that this would eat up almost all of it). There is no Wifi signal in the hotel. As there is nothing around, be prepared to eat in the hotel where the food is good, but a little pricy - rice and curry is 1350 Rs here (9 Euros), but enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diawen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

A boutique hotel it is by their service. Their service is great. The managers, guess they are co-owners, go out of their way to make us feel comfortable, took us around the property and they see that our needs are met. Awesome food and service. Keep it up. However, they have a no child policy , in the best interest of in house guests in providing them with a calm, peaceful , tranquil atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fazna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews