We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
153
26
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
26
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub stayed here for nights comfortable bed warm welcome tarragon chicken bottled water biscuits hot chocolate great gin evening meal gorgeous food rooms were very clean staff were all very friendly excellent quality base for exploring lovely village easter weekend
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our 2 day trip to Brecon beacons. Family of 3 and elderly parents as well so we took 2 rooms. We knew the rooms were upstairs and were concerned about parents being able to climb them, but it turned out to be just a few ones , no problem at all !

The rooms were very clean and smelled good. Sheets and bathrooms were clean. Hotel is at a good location to visit Brecon. The manager was a very pleasant guy, he made us breakfast next morning, fresh hot food , every body loved it.

Would come back definitely.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nithin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, Owner at Usk & Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you Nithin, much appreciated.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome from the management for our hotel check-in the (open all day) bar. Sizeable and very clean bed and bathroom with very comfortable bed & full in-room tea /coffee making facility and loads of biscuits!Ideal location to explore the Brecon Beacons.
The bar had both good real ales and house wines but a bit overpowering with horse racing and football simultaneously competing for attention on separate TVs. Had a pleasant dinner in the adjoining restaurant, both the fish and lamb shank meals were large, satisfying and reasonably priced.
Can recommend the welsh breakfast, included in the room price, with fresh cockles and lavabread being the key ingredients alongside eggs, bacon,mushrooms & grilled tomatoes.
The hotel, restaurant and bar are to be recommended. Would have no issue with a return visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hawen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

This pub was highly recommended by friends. Service was ok and staff friendly although all were very disappointed as food was discusting!
The lasagna was microwaved and was burnt at the bottom!
Would not recommend very disappointed.

Did take meal off bill but still spoilt the meal.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leahmarie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We only had one night here, but it was really lovely, we had such a warm welcome, our room was spotless and very comfortable. There were many little extras like bottled water, biscuits, tissues, shampoo. We had three meals and they were all delicious, I highly recommend. A beautiful spot, the scenery was so beautiful .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackiejjjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Really nice pub with extremely welcoming land lord and lady,
Great food and a cracking local darts team if you lucky enough to be here on a Monday night.
Will be coming back next time I’m here.

Not one to be missed :)

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews