We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not prepared for large groups”

Ugly Duckling Wines
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in West Swan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ugly Duckling Wines is a small boutique vineyard and cellar door located in the heart of the Swan Valley. We pride ourselves in offering premium wines, all hand-picked and locally crafted, coupled with old fashioned personal touch. While you are here, indulge in a mouth-watering gourmet pie made by the Bindoon Bakehaus, alongside a fresh garden salad. Using our wines in the steak, mushroom and shiraz pie and the chicken, leek and chardonnay pie, you will not be disappointed! Or be tempted by our delicious cheese and meat platters while you relax and soak up the fantastic views across the Swan Valley to the Perth hills. We also have a small selection of beautifully crafted cheese boards made from wine barrels, olives, olive oil and linen napkins with funky duck designs now available for sale. So come and enjoy tasting our wines and indulging your taste buds when you visit our charming, rustic cottage at 7790 West Swan Road. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

A small nice winery, very friendly and polite by email but at the end after having paid the deposit for a winetasting for a group of 15 had to cancel my reservation and change location because I was told that I needed to preorder the mains in order to have a table.. in my opinion if you are planning to visit with a large group and want to eat meals that is not the best place..

Thank Queenofhearts12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

This review is a huge disappointment after doing our best to try and accommodate this person. Firstly, no deposit was ever made, this is simply not true. This person initially requested a wine and cheese tasting for only 10 people, when she was told she was welcome but that it would be a very busy day, as we had an event on. A few days prior to coming in she then revealed she also wanted to order lunch on the day for up to 17 people. She came to our cellar door and our manager clearly explained that we could not allocate any tables to her as we were booked out, but did suggest she could bring picnic rugs if they still wanted to have lunch. We also explained pre-ordering for 17 people would ensure they did not have to wait for food but we still could not allocate a table. This person did not want to do pre-order. After being made fully aware of this she still chose to book in and then made full payment for 17 people to do premium wine tasting. The issue was not that a pre-order was needed at all, but that we had no available tables at 2pm. We then received an email saying that she was disappointed with the seating arrangements as they had expected a table for the group. We informed her that we would do our best to find a table on the day. She later decided to cancel and we refunded the full payment. She sarcastically informed us via email that it was “their fault not to ask if a winery with a kitchen that serves food, had available a place where to sit” and suggested we should have given them wine as compensation for being unable to take them. To then give us a poor review and suggest we are not set up for groups is incredibly disappointing and untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Swan Valley's Ugly Duckling Winery, which we happened upon, is a must for all wine lovers. Not much to look at only outdoor dining area, but welcoming and comfortable setting. I thoroughly enjoyed the wines and bought a few bottles to take back to Melbourne. They have a Sparkling Shiraz that's beyond good, top that off with a devine Cheese board which was ample for two people. Gorgeous staff who were extremely accommodating, I'll be spreading the word around that you MUST visit The Ugly Duckling Winery when you're next in the Swan Valley.

Love Giulia

Thank AvantGardeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Giulia

I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff. Thank you. So glad you had such a nice time and I agree the Sparkling Shiraz is pretty good!! We certainly appreciate you spreading the word for us and hopefully we get the chance to see you again on your next visit to Perth.

Kindest regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

It was a public holiday so a 10% surcharge was the order of the day. It was a warm day mid 30's. We had not booked, arriving around 1pm to find plenty of tables. The menu is limited to nibbles where you can choose from a meat or vegetarian selection. We choses the vegetarian and opted for cheese.,

Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Jason

So glad you enjoyed the food.

Best wishes

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I stopped by this winery during our two days in WA during our honeymoon. We loved it! The woman who helped us (whose name I have sadly forgotten, but I know she's originally from New Zealand) was amazing! She was very friendly, personable, and knowledgable about the wines. She truly made the experience great and left us wishing that we lived nearby so that we could visit the winery all the time! The wine was great and we left with some. Definitely recommend Ugly Duckling!

Thank Samantha421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Samantha

Jasmine was absolutely delighted you had such a wonderful time. She said you were a lovely couple and we hope you had a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, enjoy the wine and we do hope you make it back to the Swan Valley sometime and that you come and see us !!!

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Casual - great platters with very good quality produce. Staff are excellent, they can cater for big groups which have been there when I have gone but they still seem to keep the feeling of being a smaller winery which you can go to and have a afternoon chat! Love the wine - all good..

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review Karen. Our staff always enjoy the opportunity to chat with customers and we are really pleased you enjoyed both the platters and wine. Look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Best wishes
Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Duckling Wines also viewed

 
West Swan, Swan Valley
Herne Hill, Swan Valley
 

Been to Ugly Duckling Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing