We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to relax!”

Ugly Duckling Wines
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in West Swan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ugly Duckling Wines is a small boutique vineyard and cellar door located in the heart of the Swan Valley. We pride ourselves in offering premium wines, all hand-picked and locally crafted, coupled with old fashioned personal touch. While you are here, indulge in a mouth-watering gourmet pie made by the Bindoon Bakehaus, alongside a fresh garden salad. Using our wines in the steak, mushroom and shiraz pie and the chicken, leek and chardonnay pie, you will not be disappointed! Or be tempted by our delicious cheese and meat platters while you relax and soak up the fantastic views across the Swan Valley to the Perth hills. We also have a small selection of beautifully crafted cheese boards made from wine barrels, olives, olive oil and linen napkins with funky duck designs now available for sale. So come and enjoy tasting our wines and indulging your taste buds when you visit our charming, rustic cottage at 7790 West Swan Road. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Casual - great platters with very good quality produce. Staff are excellent, they can cater for big groups which have been there when I have gone but they still seem to keep the feeling of being a smaller winery which you can go to and have a afternoon chat! Love the wine - all good..

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review Karen. Our staff always enjoy the opportunity to chat with customers and we are really pleased you enjoyed both the platters and wine. Look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Best wishes
Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We dropped into Ugly Duckling as part of a wine tour recently. The wine selection was good and there a couple of standouts as well. The staff were very attentive considering the number of people there at the time.

We had lunch included here during the tour and the atmosphere with the live music and great service from the staff made it a highlight of the tour. The lunch was amazingly good, well presented and in ample supply. Couldn't fault Ugly Duckling at all; it is well worth a visit whilst you are in the Swan Valley.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you so much for such lovely feedback Mark. Yes we can get busy, so it's great to hear our staff were so attentive and that you really enjoyed our platters as well. I certainly look forward to passing your comments onto the staff.
Best wishes and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Came here with family for our daughter's 20th birthday wine tour. Staff were attentive, friendly and very informative. Location was beautiful and to top it off live music was playing. Wines were lovely. Could have stayed longer.

Thank Cathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Cathryn

It was an absolute pleasure to have you all visit us. Nice way to celebrate a birthday. Thanks for the great feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully you can stay longer next time.

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Came here as a part of our wine tour for lunch. Great venue, delicious wines, live music and yummy food. Couldn't complain - recommend.

Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi Samantha
Glad you had such a great time. Thanks for the feedback. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We dropped in for a wine tasting and a snack. It's a small setup but it was really well done. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only reason I didn't rate them 5 was because the cheese platter had an issue with the bread. However the staff were quick to correct the situation with little fuss. I'm sure the issue with the bread was with the delivery company, but it shouldn't have been served. I would definitely go back and I'm happy to recommend Ugly Duckling Wines to everyone.

Thank Chris-and-Mel-Warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Chris and Mel

We hope you had a enjoyable stay in WA and enjoyed Cirque Du Soleil. Glad the staff were helpful and friendly. I am sorry about the bread and we have followed this through. Hope you visit us again next time.

Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Duckling Wines also viewed

 
West Swan, Swan Valley
Herne Hill, Swan Valley
 

Been to Ugly Duckling Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing