We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
934
310
128
66
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
310
128
66
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne reception brian hughes four poster bed scones piano bar the owner before dinner gas fire dessert buffet free champagne sing song superior room dining room each evening turf fires old world charm sky road
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returning after 12 years, I was delighted to find the hotel is still as wonderful as I remembered it.
All the essential ingredients of an enjoyable stay are there - good food, comfortable surroundings, relaxed ambiance and excellent friendly service. But when you add the extra ingredient of 'mine host' Brian, then the fun begins as well. Along with Roger, Brian anticipates your every need and makes the welcome really personal and special. Brian looks after guests in the dining room and at the 'champagne' reception and then ends the day playing the piano in the bar after dinner, with good Irish 'craic' to finish the day.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel - Irish hospitality at its best.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were at Abbeyglen 12 years ago. We went with a crowd of friends who had not experienced their hospitality before and we were certainly not disappointed
The same warm welcome, very friendly staff, excellent food a brilliant musical entertainment. Thank you Abbeyglen for living up to our expectations.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LihouGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazing experience we had during our 2 day stay here. From the moment we arrived, we felt not only welcome but spoiled. All the staff especially Brian created a very special atmosphere, they clearly love making people happy. Each afternoon there were tea and scones served, and each evening a champagne reception. The food served to us at dinner was superb rounded off by a table laden with desserts. I WANT TO GO BACK SOON.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a fantastic view.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To start off with, BEAUTIFUL view, super impressed with the sights around this castle hotel and on grounds. Staff were very friendly answering any questions we had and going above and beyond for us. Complementary scones and tea were offered and delicious. Champagne hour and local talk was one of our favorite times, Roger talked about the local history and was hysterical really lightened up the room. (We tend to not be very social and stick to ourselves) but Roger brought the fun out of everyone. Don’t let me forget about dinner, If you go there just to eat then do it. Well worth it, the food was amazing. Highly recommend the seafood chowder by the way, I will dream about it I’m sure (don’t tell my wife). The rooms were very nice and clean and were easy to relax and sleep in. Breakfast was really good as well with a nice spread and many options. Roger also informed us of were to see one of the best view around and he was not lying. Sky road brings you out to an amazing view. Would highly recommend this stay to anyone and would love to return in the future.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Happygilmores01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel may seem a little outdated, but you do not come to Connemara to stay in a hight tech lodging. The hotel is warm, our suite very comfortable, with a gas fireplace very nice to warm up, and a nice sitting area. I had kept from a previous stay in Ireland a rather negative opinion on local food, but that was not the case at all here. Globally, it is very good value for money.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews